Aviation of WWII
Home Custom Search
Japan Aichi D-3A B7A E13A E16A H9A M6A Photos & Drawings

H9A
Training Flying Boat
Aichi

Aichi H9A

H9A Training flying boat. The design was carried out from May to December 1939, the first copy took off and was tested in September 1940, however, according to the test results, it had many complaints. Landing and steering the boat itself turned out to be too difficult. In addition, the N9A behaved disgustingly on the water, buried its nose in the wave and was practically uncontrollable when maneuvering.

Structurally, the flying boat, which later received the name H9A, was a monoplane parasol with two Nakajima Kotobuki-41 Kai 2 air-cooled engines with a capacity of 710 hp each. The aircraft had a metal structure with plywood and fabric sheathing. The regular crew consisted of two pilots, an observer, a flight engineer and a radio operator. Also, space was provided for three more cadets. To train the shooters, it was planned to install 7.7-mm machine guns in the bow and middle of the boat. To practice anti-submarine missions, it was possible to suspend up to two 250 kg depth charges.

The aircraft had a tricycle retractable landing gear with a nose wheel, but strictly speaking, it could not be called an amphibian. The landing gear was too weak and not suitable for take-off and landing at airfields, but was used only to roll the aircraft out of the water onto a slip and lower it back into the water.

To solve the problems, the engines were lowered almost under the wing, the shape of the flaps was changed, and the wing area increased from 58.62 to 63.3 m . At the same time, the wing span increased from 21 to 24 meters. New Nakajima Kotobuki-42 engines of the same power, but more reliable, were also installed.

Aichi H9A were produced from 1942 to 1943, however, despite all the changes, the flight and operational data of the flying boat remained unsatisfactory and the "station wagon" did not work out of it. Therefore, it was decided to produce a new flying boat in a limited series only in a training version, especially since the production of heavy combat flying boats N6K and N8K, the crews of which were supposed to be trained on the N9A, was practically one-piece.

Aichi H9A1
Crew 5-8
Dimensions
Wing span, m 24.00
Wing area, m² 63.30
Length, m 10.83
Height, m 5.25
Powerplant
2 × PE Hakajima Kotobuki 42 ore 43
Power, hp 2 × 710
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 4,900
Loaded weight 7,000
Gross weight 7,500
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 315
Cruising speed, km/h 220
Maximum rate of climb, m/min 270
Service ceiling, m 6,780
Service range, km 2,150

Armament. One 7.7 mm type 92 machine gun in the bow and middle of the boat; up to two 250 kg bombs.

Aichi Type 2 H9A flying boats began entering service in early 1943. All produced flying boats of this type were delivered to the training center of the specially created Takuma kokutai on June 1, 1943, in the town of Niihama near Kure.

The training Takuma kokutai was formed specifically for training seaplane crews. From 1943 to September 1944, Takuma kokutai lived a quiet life as a training unit, regularly releasing hundreds of combatant naval pilots, navigators and gunners. In September 1944, when the war came close to the shores of the metropolis, the Takuma kokutai underwent a reorganization, merging with the remnants of the Yokohama kokutai, armed with Kawanishi H8K "Emily" flying boats and Aichi E13A "Jake" float reconnaissance boats. On the basis of this unit, it was decided to form a combat unit, which became the largest seaplane base in Japan. Since the fall of 1944, the main functions of the unit were preparatory work for the defense of "home territory" with sorties on combat patrols. The few N9A flying boats did not stand aside, since the possibility of suspending a pair of 250-kg bombs in it was originally laid.

Since February 1945, "Special Attacks" units have been formed at the Takuma kokutai base to counter the Allied invasion of Okinawa. In particular, a special kamikaze squadron "Kotohira Suishin" was formed, equipped with seaplanes. In April 1945, in four suicide attacks on the American invasion fleet off Okinawa, almost the entire Takuma kokutai was destroyed. It is rather difficult to isolate the successes of low-speed seaplanes and flying boats from several dozen hits on allied ships. The allies did not particularly bother themselves with identifying the type of attacking kamikaze, and from the Japanese side, for obvious reasons, there was, as a rule, no one to tell about the successes. Most likely, the vast majority of Takuma kokutai seaplanes were shot down by American fighters, preventing them from even approaching their fleet. In these attacks, at least 20 flying boats Aichi H9A were killed. The surviving flying boats of this type were scattered along the Japanese coast at the end of the war. One of them was discovered at Omura Air Base. Six wrecked flying boats Aichi N9A were found near Kagoshima, about. Kyushu, two of which were numbered T-25 (see photo above) and T-53 were in acceptable condition and were captured by the Americans after Japan's surrender. The presence of this type of flying boat as part of the Japanese naval aviation until this moment was a secret for the Allies, therefore it was the only Japanese serial aircraft that did not receive a traditional codename from the Allies. The flying boats were thoroughly studied by the winners, but they did not arouse interest and ended their lives at the dump of captured Japanese aircraft in Sasebo.

Photo Description

Drawing Aichi H9A1

Bibliography

  • Japan float aircraft /Evgeniy Aranov/
  • "Japan Aircraft of World War II." /Oleg Doroshkevich/
  • Aviation of Japan /Andrey Firsov/
Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Photos & Drawings

©AirPages
2003-

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Aichi D-3A B7A E13A E16A H9A M6A Фото и схемы Боевое применение E13A E16A D-3A

H9A
Учебная летающая лодка
Aichi

Aichi H9A

H9A Учебная летающая лодка. Проектирование велось с мая по декабрь 1939 года, первый экземпляр взлетел и был испытан в сентябре 1940 года, однако по результатам испытаний имел много нареканий. Посадка и само управление лодкой оказалось слишком сложным. Кроме того, на воде Н9А вел себя отвратительно, зарывался носом в волну и был практически неуправляем при маневрировании.

Конструктивно летающая лодка, получившая впоследствии название H9А, представляла собой моноплан-паpасоль с двумя двигателями воздушного охлаждения Nakajima Коtobuki-41 Кai 2 мощностью по 710 л.с. Самолёт имел металлическую конструкцию с фанерной и тканевой обшивкой. Штатный экипаж состоял из двух пилотов, наблюдателя, боpтинженеpа и радиста. Также были предусмотрены места ещё для трех курсантов. Для подготовки стрелков предусматривалась установка 7,7-миллиметровых пулеметов в носовой и средней части лодки. Для отработки противолодочных заданий имелась возможность подвески до двух 250 кг глубинных бомб.

Самолет имел трехопорное убирающееся шасси с носовым колесом, но строго говоря, амфибией ее назвать было нельзя. Шасси было слишком слабым и не годилось для взлета и посадки на аэродромах, а использовалось лишь для выкатки самолета из воды на слип и спуск обратно в воду.

Для решения проблем двигатели были опущены почти под крыло, изменена форма закpылков, а площадь кpыла выросла с 58,62 до 63,3 м². Размах при этом увеличился с 21 до 24 м. Также были установлены новые двигатели Nakajima Коtobuki-42 той же мощности, но более надежные.

Aichi H9A выпускались с 1942 по 1943 г., однако, несмотря на все изменения, летные и эксплуатационные данные летающей лодки оставались неудовлетворительными и "универсала" из нее не получилось. Поэтому новую летающую лодку решено было выпускать ограниченной серией только в учебном варианте, тем более, что и выпуск боевых тяжелых летающих лодок Н6К и Н8К, экипажи которых предполагалось готовить на Н9А, был практически штучный.

Aichi H9A1
Экипаж 5-8
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 24,00
Площадь крыла, м² 63,30
Длина самолета, м 10,83
Высота самолета, м 5,25
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Hакадзима Котобуки 42 или 43
Мощность, л.с. 2 × 710
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 4900
Нормальная взлетная 7000
Максимальная взлетная 7500
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 315
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 220
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин 270
Практический потолок, м 67800
Практическая дальность, км 2150

Вооружение. По одному 7,7-мм пулемету тип 92 в носовой и средней части лодки; до двух 250 кг бомб.

Летающие лодки Aichi Тип 2 H9A начали поступать на вооружение в начале 1943 года. Все выпущенные летающие лодки этого типа поступали в учебный центр специально созданного 1 июня 1943 года Takuma kokutai в местечке Ниихама рядом с Куре.

Учебный Takuma kokutai был сформирован специально для обучения экипажей гидросамолетов. С 1943 года по сентябрь 1944 Takuma kokutai жил спокойной жизнью учебного подразделения, исправно выпуская сотни строевых морских летчиков, штурманов и стрелков. В сентябре 1944 года, когда война вплотную приблизилась к берегам метрополии Takuma kokutai прошел переформирование, слившись с остатками Yokohama kokutai, вооруженного летающими лодками Kawanishi H8K "Emily" и поплавковыми разведчиками Aichi E13A "Jake". На базе этой части было решено сформировать боевое подразделение, ставшее крупнейшей в Японии базой гидроавиации. С осени 1944 года основными функциями части стали подготовительные работы по обороне "домашней территории" с вылетами на боевое патрулирование. Не остались в стороне и немногочисленные летающие лодки Н9А, благо возможности подвески пары 250-кг бомб в ней были заложены изначально.

С февраля 1945 года на базе Takuma kokutai стали формировать отряды "Специальных атак" для противодействию вторжению союзников на Окинаву. В частности была сформирована Специальная эскадрилья камикадзе "Kotohira Suishin", укомплектованная гидропланами. В апреле 1945 года в четырех самоубийственных атаках на американский флот вторжения у Окинавы почти весь состав Takuma kokutai был уничтожен. Вычленить успехи тихоходных гидросамолетов и летающих лодок из нескольких десятков попаданий в корабли союзников довольно сложно. Союзники особо не забивали себе головы идентификацией типа атакующего камикадзе, а с японской стороны, по понятным причинам, рассказать об успехах было, как правило, некому. Скорее всего подавляющее большинство гидросамолетов Takuma kokutai была сбита американскими истребителями, не дав им даже приблизиться к своему флоту. В этих атаках погибли как минимум 20 летающих лодок Aichi Н9А. Уцелевшие летающие лодки этого типа в конце войны были рассеяны по японскому побережью. Один из них был обнаружен на авиабазе Омура. Шесть разбитых летающих лодок Aichi Н9А были обнаружены на близ Кагошимы, о. Кюсю, две из которых с номерами Т-25 (см. фото вверху) и Т-53 были в приемлемом состоянии и были захвачены американцами после капитуляции Японии. Наличие этого типа летающей лодки в составе японской морской авиации вплоть до этого момента было для союзников тайной, поэтому это был единственным из серийных японских самолетов, который не получил у союзников традиционного кодового имени. Летающие лодки были тщательно изучены победителями, но интереса не вызвали и закончили свою жизнь на свалке трофейной японской авиатехники в Сасебо.

Фото Описание

Схема Aichi H9A1

Источники

  • "Поплавковые самолеты Японии" /Евгений Аранов/
  • "Авиация Японии" /Андрей Фирсов/
  • "Самолеты Японии Второй мировой войны." /О. Дорошкевич/
Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Kokusai Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-