Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Ki-78
Experimental High-speed Fighter
Kawasaki

Ki-78

Ki-78 Ken III (Kensan III) is an experimental high-speed aircraft designed to study the properties of a laminar wing at high wing loads. In early 1938, a high-speed research program for a small single-seat aircraft was launched at the Institute of Aviation Research, University of Tokyo.

To achieve record speed, an all-metal construction was used in combination with a small, thin wing with a laminar flow profile and a sharp leading edge. The aircraft used a streamlined fuselage with a minimal midship. To reduce the landing speed and improve controllability at low flight speeds, the wing was equipped with hovering ailerons and a combination of slotted flaps and Fowler flaps, which was used for the first time on Japanese aircraft.

A licensed Daimler-Benz DB 601A engine was installed as a power plant. For a short-term increase in power, injection of a water-methanol mixture was used, and the cooling of the radiator was enhanced by a fan driven by a turbine, taken for cooling power of 45 kW (60 hp).

Kawasaki Ki-78
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 8.00
Wing area, m² 11.00
Length, m 8.47
Height, m 8.10
Powerplant
1 × PE Daimler-Benz DB-601А, power, hp 1 × 1175
with injection of water-methanol mixture 1 × 1550
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 1,930
Gross weight 2,300
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 700
Service ceiling, m 8,000
Service range, km 600

The first flight of the Ki-78 took place on December 26, 1942, during which poor controllability at low flight speeds and extremely low stall characteristics were discovered. The aircraft turned out to be heavier than in the design and estimate documentation, which increased the already high specific wing loading. Even with special flaps, takeoff and landing speeds remained high and reached 205 km / h and 170 km / h, respectively. In addition, at a relatively low speed of 635 km / h, elevator flutter was detected, to eliminate it, horn compensation was installed on the rudders.

Flight speed tests began in April 1943, and in the 31st flight, December 27, Ki-78 at an altitude of 3527 m developed a maximum speed of 699.6 km / h, which was significantly less than the expected speed of 850 km / h. Research has shown that significant modifications to the airframe were necessary to improve the Ki-78's flight characteristics, and as a result, after the thirty-second flight, on January 11, 1944, the Ki-78 test program was officially terminated. The second Ki-78 was never completed.

Photo Description
Drawing Ki-78

Drawing Ki-78

Bibliography

  • Record aircraft Kawasaki Ki-78 / Ivan Byakin /
  • Japan Aviation. / Andrey Firsov /
  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /

Add Comment


Ki-78 destruction

Ki-78 survived the war, but did not arouse interests of the Americans and in 1945 it was destroyed at the Gifu factory airfield.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Kawasaki Ki-45 Ki-48 Ki-56 Ki-60 Ki-61 Ki-64 Ki-78 Ki-100 Ki-102 Фото и схемы

Ki-78
Экспериментальный скоростной самолет
Kawasaki

Ki-78

Ki-78 Ken III (Kensan III) - экспериментальный скоростной самолет, разработанный для исследования свойств крыла с ламинарным профилем при высоких нагрузках на крыло. В начале 1938 года в Институте авиационных исследований Токийского университета была начата программа высокоскоростных исследований небольшого одноместного самолета.

Для достижения рекордной скорости использовалась цельнометаллическая конструкция в сочетании с небольшим тонким крылом с ламинарным профилем обтекания и острой передней кромкой. В конструкции самолета использовался обтекаемый фюзеляж с минимальным миделем. Для снижения посадочной скорости и улучшения управляемости на малых скоростях полета крыло было оснащено зависающими элеронами и комбинацией щелевых закрылков и закрылков Фаулера, что применялось впервые на японских самолетах.

В качестве силовой установки устанавливался лицензионный двигатель Daimler-Benz DB 601A. Для кратковременного повышения мощности использовался впрыск водно-метаноловой смеси, а охлаждение радиатора усиливалось за счет вентилятора с приводом от турбины, отбираемой на охлаждение мощность в 45 кВт (60 л.с.).

Kawasaki Ki-78
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 8,00
Площадь крыла, м² 11,00
Длина самолета, м 8,47
Высота самолета, м 8,10
Силовая установка
1 × ПД Даймлеp-Бенц DB-601А, мощностью, л.с. 1 × 1175
с впpыском водно-метаноловой смеси 1 × 1550
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 1930
Максимальная взлетная 2300
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 700
Практический потолок, м 8000
Практическая дальность, км 600

Первый полет Ki-78 состоялся 26 декабря 1942 года, в ходе которого были обнаружены плохая управляемость на малых скоростях полета и крайне низкие характеристики сваливания. Самолет оказался тяжелее, чем в проектно-сметной документации, что увеличило и без того высокую удельную нагрузку на крыло. Даже со специальными закрылками взлетная и посадочная скорости оставались высокими и достигали 205 км/ч и 170 км/ч соответственно. Кроме того, на относительно невысокой скорости 635 км/ч, был обнаружен флаттер руля высоты, для его устранения на рули была установлена роговая компенсация.

Лётные испытания на скорость начались в апреле 1943 года, и в 31-м полёте, 27 декабря, Ki-78 на высоте 3527 м развил максимальную скорость 699,6 км/ч, что было значительно меньше ожидаемой скорости в 850 км/ч. Исследования показали, что для улучшения летных характеристик Ki-78 были необходимы значительные переделки планера, вследствие чего, после тридцать второго полета, 11 января 1944 года, программа испытаний Ki-78 была официально прекращена. Второй самолет Ki-78 так и не был достроен.

Фото Описание

Схема Ki-78

Источники

  • Рекордный самолет Kawasaki Ki-78 /Иван Бякин/
  • "Авиация Японии." /Андрей Фирсов/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/

Ваше имя (Nick):
Ваш e-mail:
Введите число 5146563:
Ваша информация:

Разрушение Ki-78

Ki-78 пережил войну, однако интересов у американцев не вызвал и в 1945 году был уничтожен на заводском аэродроме Гифу.

Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Kokusai Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-