Aviation of WWII
Home Custom Search
Japan Yokosuka B4Y1 D4Y H5Y R2Y E14Y Photos & Drawings

R2Y Keiun
Reconnaissance aircraft
Yokosuka

R2Y Keiun

R2Y Keiun. In 1942, the Imperial Japanese Navy became interested in a long-range high-speed reconnaissance aircraft capable of evading interception by fighters, by analogy with the Imperial Army reconnaissance officer - Mitsubishi Ki-46, and issued a task to create such an aircraft with maximum speed up to 575 km / h at an altitude of 6000 m. The initial design of the aircraft, designated R1Y1 Seiyun (Japanese 青 い 雲 - blue cloud), was to receive new 24-cylinder liquid-cooled engines with a capacity of 2500 hp. with., which were developed in Mitsubishi, but the timing of their creation was constantly pushed back.

The lack of engines forced the fleet to issue new specifications, which were based on the project using the experience gained during the tests of the Heinkel He 119-V4, which was purchased by the fleet back in 1940. Like the German machine, the new reconnaissance aircraft was supposed to receive a pair of two engines Aichi 10 (70; two engines Atsuta 30), installed in the fuselage behind the cockpit and powered by a pulling propeller.

The new R2Y1 reconnaissance aircraft received the name Keyun (Cirrus Cloud), but with the defeat of the Japanese near the Mariana Islands, priorities changed: first of all, fighters and bombers were required, and the approach of war to the shores of Japan completely eliminated the need for a long-range sea reconnaissance, i.e.. the idea of ​​converting the project into a bomber breathed new life into it.

At the end of 1944, the arsenal proposed to create a jet bomber based on R2Y. For this, the twin engines in the fuselage were planned to be replaced with a fuel tank, and a pair of turbojet engines with Mitsubishi Ne-330 axial compressors with a thrust of 1320 kg would be installed under the wing. The combat load was assumed to be one 800 kg bomb under the fuselage. A battery of four 30-mm cannons was to be installed in the bow. The maximum speed was expected to be 790 km / h at 10,000 m, compared to 715 km / h for the piston engine variant; also had to increase the rate of climb of the aircraft and decrease the combat radius.

It was decided to make the R2Y1 piston as an aerodynamic prototype before the R2Y2 jet was ready. Upon completion of production, the experimental R2Y1 on April 27, 1945 was delivered for flight tests in Kisarazu, where during the runs revealed problems with the nose landing gear (front wheel shimmy) and engine overheating. The first flight of the aircraft took place on May 8, but was interrupted due to a sharp rise in engine oil temperature. The resulting replacement of the power plant was not carried out, the plane was bombed by the Americans.

The second instance of R2Y1 and the prototype R2Y2, the assembly of which continued in the Yokosuka arsenal, were not completed until the end of the war, and after the defeat of Japan, further work on the aircraft project stopped.

Yokosuka R2Y
Crew 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 14.00
Wing area, m² 34.00
Length, m 13.05
Height, m 4.24
Powerplant
1 × PE Aichi-10 Na-70, power, hp. 1 × 3400
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 6015
Loaded weight 8100
Performanceе
Maximum speed, km/h 715
Cruising speed, km/h 460
Maximum rate of climb, m/min 1000
Service ceiling, m 11,700
Service range, km 3,600
Photo Description

Drawing R2Y

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering " /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Japan Warplanes of World War II" /Oleg Doroshkevich/
Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Kokusai Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Photos & Drawings

©AirPages
2003-

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Yokosuka B4Y1 D4Y H5Y P1Y R2Y E14Y MXY7 Фото и схемы Боевое применение E14Y

R2Y Keiun
Разведывательный самолет
Yokosuka

R2Y Keiun

R2Y Keiun. В 1942 году Императорский флот Японии заинтересовался дальним скоростным разведчиком, способным уходить от перехвата истребителями, по аналогии с разведчиком Императорской Армии - Mitsubishi Ki-46, и выдал задание на создание подобного самолета с максимальной скоростью до 575 км/ч на высоте 6000 м. Первоначальный проект самолета, получивший обозначение R1Y1 Сеюн (яп. 青い雲 - голубое облако), должен был получить новые 24-цилиндровые двигатели жидкостного охлаждения мощностью 2500 л. с., которые разрабатывались в Мицубиси, однако сроки их создания постоянно отодвигались.

Отсутствие двигателей и вынудило флот выдать новые спецификации, в основе которых лежал проект с использованием опыта, полученного на испытаниях Хейнкеля Не 119-V4, который был закуплен флотом еще в 1940 г. Подобно немецкой машине, новый разведчик должен был получить спарку двух двигателей Айчи 10 (На 70; два двигателя Ацута 30), установленную в фюзеляже за кабиной пилота и работающую на тянущий винт.

Новый разведчик R2Y1 получил имя Кеюн (Перистое облако), но с поражением японцев у Марианских островов приоритеты изменились: в первую очередь требовались истребители и бомбардировщики, а приближение войны к берегам Японии вообще сняло необходимость в дальнем морском разведчике, т. о. идея переделать проект в бомбардировщик вдохнула в него новую жизнь.

В конце 1944 г арсенал предложил создать на базе R2Y реактивный бомбардировщик. Для этого спарку двигателей в фюзеляже планировалось заменить на топливный бак, а под крылом установить пару турбореактивных двигателей с осевыми компрессорами Mitsubishi Ne-330 тягой 1320 кг. Боевая нагрузка предполагалась из одной 800 кг бомбы под фюзеляжем. В носовой части должна была устанавливаться батарея из четырех 30-мм пушек. Максимальная скорость ожидалась в 790 км/ч на высоте 10000 м по сравнению с 715 км/ч для варианта с поршневыми двигателями; также должны были возрасти скороподъемность самолета и уменьшиться боевой радиус.

Было решено до готовности реактивного R2Y2 изготовить в качестве аэродинамического прототипа поршневой R2Y1. По завершению изготовления опытный R2Y1 27 апреля 1945 года был доставлен для лётных испытаний в Кисаразу, где в ходе пробежек выявились проблемы с носовой опорой шасси (шимми переднего колеса) и перегрев двигателя. Первый полет самолета состоялся 8 мая, однако был прерван из-за резкого роста температуры масла двигателя. Последовавшая в результате замена силовой установки произведена не была, самолет был разбомблен американцами.

Второй экземпляр R2Y1 и опытный образец R2Y2, сборка которых продолжалась в арсенале Йокосука, до окончания войны закончены не были, а после поражения Японии дальнейшая работа над проектом самолёта прекратилась.

Yokosuka R2Y
Экипаж 2
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 14,00
Площадь крыла, м² 34,00
Длина самолета, м 13,05
Высота самолета, м 4,24
Силовая установка
1 × ПД Айчи-10 Hа-70, мощностью, л.с. 1 × 3400
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 6015
Нормальная взлетная 8100
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 715
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 460
Max скороподъемность, м/мин 1000
Практический потолок, м 11700
Практическая дальность, км 3600
Фото Описание

Схема R2Y

Источники

  • "Самолеты Японии Второй мировой войны." /О. Дорошкевич/
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
Aichi Kawanishi Kawasaki Mansyu Mitsubishi Nakajima Tachikawa Yokosuka Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-