Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

EF.61

High Altitude Bomber

Junkers

EF.61

In 1934, the Junkers Flugzeugwerke sent a proposal to the Technical Department of the Air Commissariat for a pressurized bomber capable of operating at heights inaccessible to fighters. This radical proposal aroused keen interest, and after Junkers proposed the EF-61 project in early 1935, an order was issued for two prototype aircraft. Meanwhile, flight tests of the Ju.49 continued, but after reaching an altitude of 12,500 m in September 1935, the engine stalled and the aircraft was wrecked.

The first of two experienced high-altitude bombers EF-61-V1 was ready in the fall of 1936. It was equipped with two Daimler-Benz DB-600A engines with a take-off power of 950 hp with frontal radiators. The first flight took place at the end of the year. The aircraft had a two-spar wing of high elongation, with a span of 27 m. The fuselage had an oval section with a corrugated working skin covered with fabric. The nose was formed by a round section of a pressurized cabin for two crew members. The view of the crew was provided by a large round panel in the bow of the cabin. Glazing was double with a layer of dried air. The glazing material was the so-called "reilite". A small round panel on the lower, right side of the cockpit provided a downward view of the pilot during landing. A transparent panel was also in the floor on the left for aiming the scorer, who acted as a navigator and shooter. In the latter case, he could use the MG-15 machine gun in the rear of the cockpit. The cabin was accessed through a round hatch on its right side.

Delays in the readiness of pressurized cabin forced to start flying without it. However, the plane never received it. On September 19, 1937, it hit a flutter and crashed, killing both pilots. While the plane was flying around, the pressurized cabin was also tested for pressure. As a result, it turned out that the plastic was too fragile for glazing a large round panel and could not withstand pressure at an altitude above 12,000 m. Thus, work on the second experimental EF-61-V2 was also delayed: its first flight took place only in October 1937.

The new pressurized cabin without large area glazing and portholes received only one transparent blister, shifted to the starboard side. The pilot's seat was raised and moved to the very end of the cockpit. Above the pilot's seat was a metal dome with two plexiglass portholes, providing a view forward and to the left. At the end of the blister, a MG-15 machine gun was installed. Behind the cockpit was equipped with a small bomb bay for four 250 kg bombs.

In addition to the pressurized cabin and some changes to the engine nacelles, the V2 did not differ much from its predecessor. Unfortunately, even before the start of high-altitude flights, the second plane crashed in December 1937. Since the first tests were disappointing, the Technical Department decided that serious fine-tuning of the pressurized cabins would be required. There were no plans to build a new aircraft. Thus, work on the first high-altitude bomber with a pressurized cabin was discontinued.



EF.61 Specification
Crew 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 27.00
Wing area, m² 65.00
Длина самолета, м 14.36
Powerplant
2 × PE Daimler-Benz DB-600, power hp 2 × 950
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 350
Service ceiling, m 12,300
Service range, km 1,576
Armament
One MG-15 machine gun, bombs, kg 4 × 250
Photo Description
EF.61V1

Drawing EF.61V1

Although the EF-61 prevented the Luftwaffe from obtaining a high-altitude bomber that was inaccessible to interceptors, it gave the German aircraft industry experience in working with pressurized cabins when they had not yet reached practical implementation in other countries. One can only surmise what success similar work would have achieved in England, France and other countries, had they had such experience.

16 months before the termination of work on the EF-61 pressurized cabin developed by the Bureau of Special Designs under the leadership of V.A. Chizhevsky in the USSR was installed on a modified ANT-25, which already flew under the designation BOK-1. Only 18 months after the accident of the second EF-61, work began on similar machines in England and the USA. In the UK, requirements B.23 / 39 were prepared for the Wellington high-altitude bomber with a pressurized cabin. At the same time, the US Army Air Corps began preparing requirements for a pressurized bomber. As a result of the latter, the North American XB-28 appeared. None of these aircraft went into battle.

Bibliography

  • Luftwaffe aviation /V.N. Shunkov/
  • Luftwaffe combat aircraft / Ed. David Donald/
  • Wings of the Luftwaffe (warplanes of the Third Reich) /William Greene/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главную     Поиск на сайте
Самолёты Юнкерс Юнкерс в СССР Ju 52 Ju 252 Ju 86 Ju 86P Ju 86R Ju 87A Ju 87B1 Ju 87B2 Ju 87D Ju 87G Ju 87R Ju 88A Ju 88C Ju 88D Ju 88G Ju 88P Ju 88 Mistel Ju 88 в UK Ju 188 Ju 287 Ju 290 Ju 388 Ju 390 Фото и схемы Боевое применение Ju 52 Ju 87 Ju 87 на Востоке Ju 88 Ju 88 Mistel Люфтваффе

EF.61

Высотный бомбардировщик

Junkers

EF.61

В 1934 г. Юнкерс флюгцойгверке направила в Технический департамент воздушного комиссариата предложение на бомбардировщик с гермокабиной экипажа, способный действовать на высотах, недоступных истребителям. Это радикальное предложение вызвало пристальный интерес, и после того, как в начале 1935 г. Юнкерс предложила проект ЕF-61, был выдан заказ на два опытных самолета. Тем временем летные испытания Ju.49 продолжались, но после достижения в сентябре 1935 г. высоты 12 500 м двигатель заглох, и самолет был разбит.

Первый из двух опытных высотных бомбардировщиков EF-61-V1 был готов осенью 1936 г. Он был оснащен двумя двигателями Даймлер-Бенц DB-600A взлетной мощностью 950 лс с лобовыми радиаторами. Первый полет состоялся в конце года. Самолет имел двухлонжеронное крыло большого удлинения, размахом 27 м. Фюзеляж имел овальное сечение с гофрированной работающей обшивкой, покрытой тканью. Нос образовывался круглой секцией герметичной кабины на двух членов экипажа. Обзор экипажа обеспечивался большой круглой панелью в носовой части кабины. Остекление было двойным с прослойкой осушенного воздуха. Материал остекления был так называемый "рейлит". Небольшая круглая панель в нижней, правой части кабины обеспечивала обзор пилоту вниз при посадке. Прозрачная панель была также и в полу слева для прицеливания бомбардиру, выполнявшему функции штурмана и стрелка. В последнем случае он мог использовать пулемет МG-15 в задней части кабины. Доступ в кабину осуществлялся через круглый люк в ее правой части.

Задержки с готовностью гермокабины заставили начать полеты без нее. Впрочем, самолет ее так и не получил 19 сентября 1937 г. он попал во флаттер и разбился, унеся жизни обоих пилотов. Пока самолет облетывался, испытывалась на давление и гермокабина. В результате выяснилось, что пластик слишком хрупок для остекления большой круглой панели и не сможет выдержать давление на высоте выше 12 000 м. Таким образом задержалась и работа над вторым опытным ЕF-61-V2: его первый полет состоялся только в октябре 1937 г.

Новая гермокабина без остекления большой площади и иллюминаторов получила только один прозрачный блистер, сдвинутый к правому борту. Место пилота было приподнято и сдвинуто в самый конец кабины. Над местом пилота размещался металлический купол с двумя плексигласовыми иллюминаторами, обеспечивающими обзор вперед и налево. В конце блистера был установлен пулемет МG-15. За кабиной был оборудован небольшой бомбоотсек на четыре 250 кг бомбы.

Помимо гермокабины и некоторого изменения мотогондол V2 почти не отличался от своего предшественника. К несчастью, еще до начала высотных полетов второй самолет разбился в декабре 1937 г. Так как первые испытания были разочаровывающими, Технический департамент решил, что потребуется серьезная доводка гермокабин. Нового самолета строить не планировалось. Таким образом работа по первому высотному бомбардировщику с гермокабиной была прекращена.

Характеристики EF.61
Экипаж 2
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 27,00
Площадь крыла, м² 65,00
Длина самолета, м 14,36
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Daimler-Benz DB-600, мощностью л. с. 2 × 950
Летные данные
Max скорость, км/час 350
Практический потолок, м 12300
Практическая дальность, км 1576
Вооружение
Один пулемет MG-15, бомб, кг 4 × 250
Фото Описание
EF.61V1

Схема EF.61V1

Хотя ЕF-61 не позволил люфтваффе получить высотный бомбардировщик, недоступный для перехватчиков, он дал немецкой авиапромышленности опыт в работе с гермокабинами тогда, когда в других странах они еще не дошли до практической реализации. Можно только предполагать, каких бы успехов достигли аналогичные работы в Англии, Франции и других странах, имей они подобный опыт.

За 16 месяцев до прекращения работ по EF-61 гермокабина разработки Бюро особых конструкций под руководством В.А. Чижевского в СССР была установлена на модифицироцанный АНТ-25, полетевший уже под обозначением БОК-1. Только через 18 месяцев после аварии второго ЕF-61 начались работы над подобными машинами в Англии и США. В Великобритании были подготовлены требования В.23/39 для высотного бомбардировщика Веллингтон с гермокабиной. Одновременно Армейский воздушный корпус США начал готовить требования к бомбардировщику с гермокабиной. В результате последних появился Норт Америкэн ХВ-28. Hи один из этих самолетов так и не пошел в бой.

Источники

  • Авиация Люфтваффе /В.Н. Шунков/
  • Боевые самолеты люфтваффе /Под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
  • Крылья Люфтваффе (боевые самолеты третьего рейха) /Уильям Грин/
Вооружение Arado Dornier Blohm und Voss Fieseler Flettner Focke Wulf Heinkel Henschel Junkers Messerschmitt Боевое применение Люди и самолеты Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-