Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

He 274 ✙
High Altitude Heavy Bomber
Heinkel

He 274

The ability of bombers to operate at a height inaccessible to fighters has always interested the Germans. So it is not surprising that with the start of work on the He 177, a version with a pressurized cabin for flight at extreme altitudes was considered. The design of this version of the He 177 began in 1940, work on it proceeded in parallel with the conventional version of the He 177a-3 bomber.

The high-altitude version of the He 177a-4 differed from the AZ by the pressurized cabin for three crew members. Sealing was provided by double-walled cabins, flat sandwich-type glazing panels and inflatable rubber tubes at the joints. The high-altitude system maintained a pressure in the cockpit equivalent to an altitude of 2500 m. Defensive armament was limited to one MG-131 machine gun forward and MG-131 twin guns on remotely controlled installations above and below the fuselage. The sighting equipment was mounted in the pressurized cabin blister.

Design work on the He 177a-4 was going on in the Austrian Schwechat. It soon became clear that it would not be possible to ensure the use of the He 177a-3 airframe to achieve the specified flight altitude, a much larger wing lengthening was required, the project of a simple lengthening of the He 177 single-spar wing was not suitable - a new two-spar wing with an aspect ratio of 13 had to be installed.

Heinkel's congestion with the development of the He 177 forced RLM to transfer the development of drawings and fine-tuning of the aircraft to the French Farman plant in Suren, ordering two experimental and four pre-production aircraft. The development of the He 274 project in the Farman bureau proceeded slowly, despite the fact that 250 French draftsmen were working under the supervision of Heinkel representatives. Constant changes led to the fact that the new aircraft no longer resembled the He 177a-3. Its length was increased from 19.6 to 22.5 m. The main landing gear of the He 177 type were replaced by two-wheeled, retracted into the engine nacelles.

The assembly of two experimental He 274-V1 and V2 began in Suren only in 1943. They were supposed to be equipped with DB-603A-2 engines with TK-11 turbochargers.

Wing He 274 had a two-section center section with consoles, two spars of which were connected by jumpers and formed a solid truss. Between the spars there were four fuel tanks (two in the center section and two in the consoles) with a total capacity of 4400 liters and oil tanks for engines. Fowler's slotted flaps were located under the center section, 10 sections of which were released using hydraulics. Ailerons with servo-controlled trim tabs.

The fuselage had a classic semi-monocoque design, immediately behind the pressurized cabin there was a 1500 liter tank and two bomb compartments. In one of them, for long-distance flights, it was possible to install an additional 1900 liter tank, which, together with two 1000 liter tanks in the tail section, provided a total capacity of 10,000 liters with a 2 ton bomb load.

The He 274 crew was planned to consist of four people: the pilot and co-pilot, sitting together, the navigator-bombardier and the radio operator behind them. The latter operated two FDL-131Z turrets using a blister in the cockpit roof and a glazed ledge under the fuselage.



He 277
B-5/R-2
He 274
V1
Crew 7 4
Dimensions
Wing span, m 31,40 44.20
Length, m 21.20 23.80
Height, m 6.65 5.50
Wing area, m² 99.70 170.00
Weight, kg:
Empty 22,100 21,320
Loaded weight 44,000 38,000
Powerplant
4 × PE Daimler-Benz
power, h.p.
DB-603A
4×1750
DB-603A-2
4×1750
Performance
Maximum speed over ground, km/h 480 430
Maximum speed at altitude, km/h 565 575
Cruising speed, km/h 458 510
Service range, km 6000 4225
Service ceiling, m 15,000 14,300

Armament. One 13-mm MG-131 machine gun in the bow, two MG-131 in the remotely controlled upper and lower FDL-131Z turrets; bombs up to 4000 kg.

He 274-V1 was ready for flight in July 1944, but the Allied offensive forced the Heinkel employees working on the project to be evacuated, the engines were blown up by explosive charges, after which the Germans, capturing all the blueprints, fled. However, the He 274-V1 glider was almost not damaged, and soon after the liberation, the Allies began to restore the aircraft. The engines were found at another plant, the first flight took place in December 1945 in Orleans.

By this time, "Farman" was nationalized and received the designation AAS, and He 274-V1 was renamed AAS-01a. Flight tests continued at Brittany-sur-Orge. Basically, the performance of the high-altitude system was assessed. The proposal to complete He 274-V2 was not accepted. He 274-V1 (AAS-01a) was scrapped in 1953.

Photo Description
Drawing He 274

Drawing He 274

He 274

Bibliography

  • The latest Henkel bombers / Aviation and Cosmonautics. Andrey Firsov. /
  • Luftwaffe Aviation / V.N. Shunkov /
  • Luftwaffe Combat Aircraft / Edited by David Donald /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Heinkel He 51 He 100 He 112 He 111 He 111B2 He 111H He 111H-11 He 111Z-1 He 115 He 116 He 119 He 177A5 He 274 He 277 He 178 He 219 He 280 He 162 Фото и схемы Боевое применение He 111 He 112 He 162 He 177 Luftwaffe

He 274 ✙
Высотный тяжелый бомбардировщик
Heinkel

He 274

Возможность бомбардировщиков действовать на высоте, недоступной истребителям, всегда интересовала немцев. Так что не удивительно, что с началом работ по Hе 177 рассматривался его вариант с гермокабиной для полета на предельных высотах. Проектирование этой версии Hе 177 началось еще в 1940 г., работы по нему шли параллельно c обычным вариантом бомбардировщика Hе 177a-3.

Высотный вариант Hе 177a-4 отличался от А-З гермокабиной на трех членов экипажа. Герметизация обеспечивалась двойными стенками кабины, плоскими панелями остекления типа "сэндвич" и надувными резиновыми трубками по стыкам. Высотная система поддерживала в кабине давление, эквивалентное высоте 2500 м. Оборонительное вооружение ограничили одним пулеметом МG-131 вперед и спарками МG-131 на дистанционно управляемых установках над и под фюзеляжем. Прицельное оборудование монтировалось в блистере гермокабины.

Проектные работы по Hе 177a-4 шли в австрийском Швехате. Вскоре стало ясно, что обеспечить использование планера He 177a-3 для достижения заданной высоты полета не получится, требовалось значительно большее удлинение крыла, проект простого удлинения однолонжеронного крыла Hе 177 не годился - пришлось установить новое двухлонжеронное крыло с удлинением 13.

Перегруженность Хейнкеля с доводкой Hе 177 вынудило RLM перевести разработку чертежей и доводку самолета на французский завод "Фарман" в Сюрене, заказав при этом два опытных и четыре предсерийных самолета. Разработка проекта Hе 274 в бюро "Фармана" шла медленно, несмотря на то, что под надзором представителей "Хейнкеля" трудилось 250 французских чертежников. Постоянное внесение изменений привело к тому, что новый самолет уже мало напоминал Hе 177a-3. Его длина была увеличена с 19,6 до 22,5 м. Основные опоры шасси по типу Hе 177 были заменены на двухколесные, убираемые назад в мотогондолы.

Сборка двух опытных Hе 274-V1 и V2 началась в Сюрене только в 1943г. Их предполагалось оснастить двигателями DB-603А-2 с турбокомпрессорами ТК-11.

Крыло Hе 274 имело двухсекционный центроплан с консолями, два лонжерона которых соединялись перемычками и образовывали сплошную ферму. Между лонжеронами располагались четыре топливных бака (два в центроплане и два в консолях) общей емкостью 4400 л и маслобаки для двигателей. Под центропланом располагались щелевые закрылки Фаулера, 10 секций которых выпускались с помощью гидравлики. Элероны с сервоуправляемыми триммерами.

Фюзеляж имел классическую полумонококовую конструкцию, сразу за гермокабиной находился 1500 л бак и два бомбоотсека. В одном из них для дальних полетов можно было установить дополнительный 1900 л бак, что вместе с двумя 1000 л баками в хвостовой части обеспечивало общую емкость в 10000 л при 2 т бомбовой нагрузки.

Экипаж Hе 274 планировался из четырех человек: пилота и второго пилота, сидящих вместе, штурмана-бомбардира и радиста за ними. Последние управляли двумя башнями FDL-131Z, используя блистер в крыше кабины и остекленный уступ под фюзеляжем.

He 277
B-5/R-2
He 274
V1
Экипаж 7 4
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 31,40 44,20
Длина, м 21,20 23,80
Высота, м 6,65 5,50
Площадь крыла, м² 99,70 170,00
Масса
Пустого, кг 22100 21320
Нормальная взлётная, кг 44000 38000
Силовая установка
4 × ПД Даймлер-Бенц
мощностью, л.с.
DB-603A
4×1750
DB-603A-2
4×1750
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость у земли, км/ч 480 430
Максимальная скорость на высоте, км/ч 565 575
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 458 510
Практическая дальность, км 6000 4225
Практический потолок, м 15000 14300

Вооружение. Один 13-мм пулемет МG-131 в носовой части, по два МG-131 в дистанционно управляемых верхней и нижней башнях FDL-131Z; бомбы до 4000 кг.

Hе 274-V1 был готов к полету в июле 1944 г., но наступление союзников заставило эвакуировать сотрудников "Хейнкеля", работавших над проектом, двигатели были подорваны зарядами взрывчатки, после чего немцы, захватив все чертежи, бежали. Однако планер Hе 274-V1 почти не пострадал, и вскоре после освобождения союзники приступили к восстановлению самолета. Двигатели нашли на другом заводе, первый полет состоялся в декабре 1945 г. в Орлеане.

К этому времени "Фарман" была национализирована и получила обозначение AAS, а Hе 274-V1 был переименован в AAS-01a. Летные испытания были продолжены в Бретани-сюр-Орж. В основном оценивалась работа высотной системы. Предложение закончить Hе 274-V2 не было принято. Hе 274-V1 (AAS-01a) пошел на слом в 1953 г.

Фото Описание

Схема He 274

He 274

Источники

  • Последние бомбардировщики "Хенкеля" /Авиация и Космонавтика. Андрей Фирсов./
  • Авиация Люфтваффе /В.Н. Шунков/
  • Боевые самолеты Люфтваффе /под редакцией Дэвида Дональда/
Вооружение Arado Dornier Blohm und Voss Fieseler Flettner Focke Wulf Heinkel Henschel Junkers Messerschmitt Боевое применение Люди и самолеты Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-