Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Ju 88D

Reconnaissance Aircraft

Junkers

Ju 88D2

Ju-88 D In the middle of 1940, the Luftwaffe command and the Junkers design team began to create a reconnaissance modification of the Ju 88 aircraft. The new vehicle was supposed to replace the Dornier Do 17P aircraft, which were used for reconnaissance at that time. The reconnaissance aircraft created on the basis of the Ju 88A was given the designation Ju 88D. Even before the serial production of Ju 88D vehicles began, a number of bombers were hastily converted into reconnaissance aircraft. The converted vehicles were designated as Ju 88A-1 (F) and Ju 88A-5 (F) (the letter F is short for Fernaufklaerungs (long-range reconnaissance)). The converted aircraft had their outer and inner bomb racks and air brakes removed. The four-leaf doors of the bomb bay were replaced with double-leaf ones. Two cameras were installed on the left side of the rear bomb bay, and one on the right side. An additional fuel tank with a capacity of 1450 liters was placed in the front bomb bay. In addition to three cameras fixed in the bomb bay, a small hand-held camera was placed in the cockpit.

The first scouts converted from bombers entered service in 1940.

In 1940, German aircraft builders produced 330 Ju 88D reconnaissance aircraft. The reconnaissance equipment consisted of the Robot Rb 70/30 or Rb 50/30 cameras, designed for shooting from high altitudes, and the Rb 20/30 camera, which was used for photographing from low altitudes.

Various modifications of the Ju 88D slightly differed from each other in the way the photographic equipment was installed. On the Ju 88D-0 and early Ju 88D-1, the camera lenses protruded beyond the hull lines and were covered by an anti-reflective system. On Ju 88D-2 and Ju 88D-4 aircraft, the lenses did not protrude beyond the fuselage contours.

Junkers 88D-0, D-2. In the middle of 1940, the Junkers plant in Dessau produced a trial series of reconnaissance aircraft Ju 88D-0. A few weeks later, the production of the Ju 88D-2 series began. Both versions were based on the Ju 88A-5. Ju 88D-0 aircraft were equipped with Jumo 211B-1 engines, and Ju 88D-2 aircraft were equipped with Jumo 211G-1 or 211H-1 engines. Additional drop fuel tanks with a total capacity of 300 liters were suspended on bomb racks under the wings. The first new scouts Ju 88D-0 received l. (F) / 122, and Ju 88D-2 - l. (F) / 123.

Junkers 88 D-1. At the beginning of 1941, the first Ju 88D-1 aircraft were built, based on the Ju 88A-4 bomber. Three cameras were installed on the aircraft, but in practice only two were used, located on the left side of the bomb bay. The Ju 88D-1s could carry bombs like regular Ju 88A-4s. A system was provided for heating cameras with exhaust gases from a running engine. The bomb bay with cameras was separated from the rear fuselage by a removable partition. On external ETC bomb racks, Ju 88D-1 aircraft could carry bombs or drop fuel tanks.

Junkers 88D-3. Aircraft Ju 88D-3, which is a variant of the Ju 88D-1, were adapted for operation in tropical conditions. The Ju 88D-3 was equipped with air filters on the air intakes of carburetors and radiators, and was also equipped with desert survival equipment. In the field, several serial Ju 88D-1s were converted in a similar way, which received the designation Ju 88D-1 Tgor (Tgor is an abbreviation for the word Tropisch (tropical)).

Junkers 88D-4. The Ju 88D-4 was a tropical version of the Ju 88D-2. At first, such aircraft were designated Ju 88D-2 Tgor.

Junkers 88D-5. The last variant of the Ju 88D aircraft was the Ju 88D-5, powered by Jumo 211G or 211H engines. The VDM screw, which was used before, was replaced with a Junker VS 11 screw. Two cameras were installed on the reconnaissance aircraft.

Ju-88C Specification
Ju 88C-4 Ju 88C-6 Ju 88D-1 Ju 88D-5
Crew 3 3 4 4
Dimensions
Length, m 14.96 14.96 14.36 14.45
Height, m 5.07 5.07 5.07 5.07
Wing span, m 20.08 20.08 20.08 20.08
Wing area m² 54.7 54.7 54.7 54.7
Weight, kg:
Loaded weight 8000 9069 8480 -
Maximum takeoff weight - 12,105 - 11,300
Powerplant
Engine 2×Jumo 211F 2×Jumo 211J 2×Jumo 211B 2×Jumo 211J
Power, kW/h p at sea level 1045/1420 1038/1410 865/1175 1038/1410
normal   780/1060 - 780/1060
at altitude, m   5,200 - 5,200
Performance
Maximum speed km/h 495 494 475 480
at altitude, m - 5300 - -
Service ceiling, m 9,600 9,900 8,600 8,700
Service range, km 3,050 1,038 2,950 3,100
Armament
Cannon 1×MG 15
1×MG 1xMG FF
3×MG 17
1×MG 81Z
3×MG17
3×MG 151/20
3×MG 15 2× MG 17
Radar FuG 16, FuG 25 FuG 16, FuG 25 FuG 16, FuG 25 FuG 16, FuG 25, FuG 200
Photo Description
Ju 88D-0, summer 1940, Norway

The Ju-88D-0 from l.(Fern.)/Aufklarungsgruppe-122, summer 1940, Norway

Ju-88D at winter

Ju-88D at winter

Ju-88D from 2./Aufklarungsgruppe-122, Russia

Ju-88D from 2./Aufklarungsgruppe-122, Russia


Ju-88T

High Speed Reconnaissance Aircraft

Ju-88T1

Ju 88 T-1 with BMW-801D air-cooled engines

In March 1943, an order was received for 50 reconnaissance aircraft and an additional 60 BMW 801D engines with a GM 1 nitrous oxide injection system to increase power at high altitudes. In addition to the gas tanks built into the wing and fuselage, such vehicles carried two plywood hanging tanks with a capacity of 900 liters under the center section, due to which the total fuel supply was brought up to 5380 liters. The aircraft was a three-seater, defensive armament consisted of a single MG 131 machine gun in the upper rear defensive mount.

In fact, until July 1943, only 17 Ju 88T-1s were produced (by re-equipment from early Ju88D-1s), further production at the Junkers enterprise ceased due to a shortage of engines, which were intended primarily for the FW 190A fighters. A small number of Ju88T-1s were additionally obtained, also by conversion from A-4 bombers, after the involvement of the repair shops of the Deutsche Lufthansa company. Here, three cameras of the Rb 20/30, Rb 50/30 or Rb 75/30 type were built into the fuselage of the former "bomber". The T-1 modification vehicles did not become widespread, but the presence of one or two vehicles is noted in a number of long-range reconnaissance units that survived by the summer of 1944; for example, in 2(F)/123.

The prototype of the reconnaissance Ju 88T-2 (factory No. 1687) first took to the skies in October 1943. It differed from its predecessor in a more complex power plant, providing for the presence of both the GM 1 system and the MW 50 water-methanol forcing device, used at low and medium altitudes. It was the complexity and excess mass of the power plant that led to the abandonment of further development of such a modification.

Ju-88T3

Ju 88 T-3 with Jumo 213A liquid-cooled engines

The next modification of the scout was the Ju 88T-3. The vehicle was equipped with Jumo 213 engines with GM 1 devices, a FuG 16ZY radio station, and some specimens with a FuG 217 radar. Actually, the Ju 88S-3 bombers were converted into the T-3 variant at the Staaken plant by DLH (there was an order for the conversion of 30 vehicles) . In the rear bomb bay, there was room for hanging ten photobombs, so the size of the built-in gas tank was smaller than that of the T-1 modification aircraft. The mass of the power plant increased markedly, so the T-3 usually carried only one 900-liter gas tank on the external sling, which led to a decrease in flight range (3170 km at cruising speed). The maximum flight speed at an altitude of 8500 m was 610 km / h with a normal flight weight with an external tank and 655 km / h with a minimum weight without external hangers.

Ju 88 T Specification
Crew 3
Wing plane, m 20.08
Length, m 14.84
Height, m 5.07
Powerplant
2 × 14-cylinder radial two-row BMW-810D, power hp 2 × 1,700
Masses, kg
Empty
Maximum takeoff 12215
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 640
Cruising speed, km/h 570
Maximum rate of climb, m/min
Service range, km 1,090
Service ceiling, m 9,800
Armament
One 13mm MG 13 machine gun

Bibliography

  • "Aviation of Luftwaffe" /Viktor Shunkov/
  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
Ju-88 in flight

Авиация Второй мировой
На главную     Поиск на сайте
Самолёты Юнкерс Юнкерс в СССР Ju 52 Ju 252 Ju 86 Ju 86P Ju 86R Ju 87A Ju 87B1 Ju 87B2 Ju 87D Ju 87G Ju 87R Ju 88A Ju 88C Ju 88D Ju 88G Ju 88P Ju 88 Mistel Ju 88 в UK Ju 188 Ju 287 Ju 290 Ju 388 Ju 390 Фото и схемы Боевое применение Ju 52 Ju 87 Ju 87 на Востоке Ju 88 Ju 88 Mistel Люфтваффе

Ju-88D

Дальний разведчик

Junkers

Ju-88D2

В середине 1940 года командование Люфтваффе и конструкторский коллектив фирмы Юнкерс приступили к созданию разведывательной модификации самолета Ju 88. Новая машина должна была заменить самолеты Дорнье Do 17P, которые в то время использовали для разведки. Созданному на базе Ju 88A самолету-разведчику присвоили обозначение Ju 88D. Еще до того, как приступили к серийному выпуску машин Ju 88D, в спешном порядке переделали в разведчики некоторое количество бомбардировщиков. Переделанные машины обозначались как Ju 88A-1(F) и Ju 88A-5(F) (буква F- сокращенно Fernaufklaerungs (дальняя разведка)). С переделанных самолетов сняли внешние и внутренние бомбодержатели и воздушные тормоза. Четырехстворчатые створки бомболюка заменили двухстворчатыми. Две фотокамеры установили в левой части заднего бомбоотсека, а одна - в правой части. В переднем бомбоотсеке разместили дополнительный топливный бак емкостью 1450 литров. Кроме трех фотокамер, закрепленных в бомбовом отсеке, в кабине пилота разместили маленький ручной фотоаппарат.

Первые переделанные из бомбардировщиков разведчики встали в строй в 1940 году.

В 1940 году немецкие самолетостроители выпустили 330 разведчиков Ju 88D. Разведывательное оборудование состояло из фотокамер Robot Rb 70/30 или Rb 50/30, предназначенных для съемок с больших высот и камеры Rb 20/30, которую использовали для фотографирования с низких высот.

Разные модификации Ju 88D незначительно отличались друг от друга по способу установки фотооборудования. На Ju 88D-0 и ранних Ju 88D-1 объективы фотокамер выступали за обводы корпуса и были закрыты противобликовой системой. На самолетах Ju 88D-2 и Ju 88D-4 объективы за обводы фюзеляжа не выступали.

Junkers 88D-0, D-2. В середине 1940 года завод Юнкерса в Дессау изготовил пробную серию самолетов-разведчиков Ju 88D-0. Через несколько недель начался выпуск серии Ju 88D-2. Обе версии были созданы на базе Ju 88A-5. На самолеты Ju 88D-0 ставили моторы Jumo 211B-1, а на Ju 88D-2 - моторы Jumo 211G-1 или 211Н-1. На бомбодержателях под крыльями были подвешены дополнительные сбрасываемые топливные баки общей емкостью 300 литров. Первыми новые разведчики Ju 88D-0 получили l.(F)/122, a Ju 88D-2 - l.(F)/123.

Junkers 88 D-1. В начале 1941 года были построены первые самолеты Ju 88D-1, созданные на базе бомбардировщика Ju 88A-4. На самолеты устанавливали три фотокамеры, однако на практике использовали только две, расположенные в левой части бомбоотсека. Самолеты Ju 88D-1 могли нести бомбы как и обычные Ju 88A-4. Была предусмотрена система обогрева фотокамер выхлопными газами работающего двигателя. От хвостовой части фюзеляжа бомбоотсек с фотокамерами отделялся съемной перегородкой. На внешних бомбодержателях ETC самолеты Ju 88D-1 могли нести бомбы или сбрасываемые топливные баки.

Junkers 88D-3. Самолеты Ju 88D-3, представляющие собой вариант Ju 88D-1, были приспособлены для эксплуатации в тропических условиях. На Ju 88D-3 устанавливали воздушные фильтры на воздухозаборниках карбюраторов и радиаторов, а также оснащали средствами выживания в пустыне. В полевых условиях подобным образом было переделано несколько серийных Ju 88D-1, которые получили обозначение Ju 88D-1 Тгор (Тгор - сокращение от слова Tropisch (тропический)).

Junkers 88D-4. Самолет Ju 88D-4 представлял собой тропический вариант самолета Ju 88D-2. Первое время такие самолеты носили обозначение Ju 88D-2 Тгор.

Junkers 88D-5. Последним вариантом самолета Ju 88D был Ju 88D-5, оснащенный двигателями Jumo 211G или 211Н. Винт VDM, применявшийся прежде, заменили винтом Юнкере VS 11. На разведчике устанавливали две фотокамеры.

Характеристики Ju-88
Ju 88C-4 Ju 88C-6 Ju 88D-1 Ju 88D-5
Экипаж, чел. 3 3 4 4
Геометрия
Длина самолета, м 14,96 14,96 14,36 14,45
Высота, м 5,07 5,07 5,07 5,07
Размах крыла, м 20.08 20.08 20.08 20.08
Площадь крыла, м² 54.7 54.7 54.7 54.7
Массы, кг
Взлетный вес норм 8000 9069 8480 -
Взлетный вес макс - 12105 - 11300
Силовая установка
Мотор 2x Jumo 211F 2x Jumo 211J 2x Jumo 211B 2x Jumo 211J
Мощность, kW/л.с. у земли 1045/1420 1038/1410 865/1175 1038/1410
нормальная   780/1060 - 780/1060
на высоте, м   5200 - 5200
Лётные данные
Максимальная скорость км/ч 495 494 475 480
на высоте, м - 5300 - -
Практический потолок, м 9600 9900 8600 8700
Радиус действия, км 3050 1038 2950 3100
Вооружение
Число пулеметов 1×МG 15
1×MG 1×MG FF
3×MG 17
1×МG 81Z
3×MG17
3×MG 151/20
3×МG 15 2×МG 17
Радиолокатор FuG 16, FuG 25 FuG 16, FuG 25 FuG 16, FuG 25 FuG 16, FuG 25, FuG 200

Ju-88T

Скоростной разведчик

Ju-88T1

Ju 88 T-1 с двигателями воздушного охлаждения BMW-801D

В марте 1943 г. был получен заказ на изготовление 50 разведчиков и дополнительных 60 двигателей BMW 801D с системой впрыска закиси азота GM 1, обеспечивавшей повышение мощности на больших высотах. Помимо встроенных в крыло и фюзеляж бензобаков, такие машины несли под центропланом два фанерных подвесных бака емкостью по 900 л, благодаря чему общий запас топлива доводился до 5380 л. Самолет был трехместным, оборонительное вооружение состояло из единственного пулемета MG 131 в верхней задней оборонительной установке.

Реально до июля 1943 г. удалось изготовить (путем переоборудования из ранних Ju88D-1) только 17 Ju 88T-1, дальнейшее производство на предприятии "Юнкерс" прекратилось из-за нехватки моторов, предназначавшихся в первую очередь для истребителей FW 190A. Небольшое число Ju88T-1 было дополнительно получено, также путем переделки из бомбардировщиков А-4, после привлечения ремонтных мастерских компании "Дойче Люфтганза". Здесь же в фюзеляж бывшего "бомбера" встраивались три фотокамеры типа Rb 20/30, Rb 50/30 или Rb 75/30. Машины модификации Т-1 не стали массовыми, но наличие одной-двух машин отмечается в ряде отрядов дальней разведки, сохранившихся к лету 1944 г.; например, в 2(F)/123.

Прототип разведчика Ju 88Т-2 (зав. No. 1687) впервые поднялся в небо в октябре 1943 г. Он отличался от предшественника более сложной мотоустановкой, предусматривающей наличие как системы GM 1, так и устройства водо-метанолового форсирования MW 50, использовавшейся на малых и средних высотах. Именно сложность и избыточная масса силовой установки привели к отказу от дальнейшей проработки такой модификации.

Ju-88T3

Ju 88 T-3 с двигателями жидкостного охлаждения Jumo 213A

Следующей модификацией разведчика стала Ju 88Т-3. Машина оснащалась двигателями Jumo 213 с устройствами GM 1, радиостанцией FuG 16ZY, а некоторые экземпляры - радиолокатором FuG 217. Собственно, в вариант Т-3 на заводе в Штаакене компании DLH производилось переоборудование бомбардировщиков Ju 88S-3 (имелся заказ на переделку 30 машин). В заднем бомбоотсеке сохранялось место для подвески десяти фотобомб, поэтому размер встроенного бензобака был меньше, чем у самолетов модификации Т-1. Масса мотоустановки заметно возросла, поэтому на внешней подвеске Т-3 обычно несли всего один 900-литровый бензобак, что вело к уменьшению дальности полета (3170 км при крейсерской скорости). Максимальная скорость полета на высоте 8500 м составляла 610 км/ч при нормальной полетной массе с подвесным баком и 655 км/ч при минимальной массе без внешних подвесок.

Характеристики Ju 88 T
Экипаж 3
Размах крыла, м 20,08
Длина самолета, м 14,84
Высота самолета, м 5,07
Силовая установка
2 × 14-ти цил. радиальных двухрядных BMW-810D, л.с. 2 × 1700
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета
Максимальная взлетная 12215
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 640
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 570
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин
Практическая дальность, км 1090
Практический потолок, м 9800
Вооружение
Один 13-мм пулемет MG 13

Источники

  • "Авиация Люфтваффе" /В.Н. Шунков/
  • "Дальние и высотные разведчики 1939-1945" /Владимир Котельников/
  • "Боевые самолеты Люфтваффе" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
  • "Бомбардировшик Junkers Ju 88" /Д.А. Тарас/
  • Война в воздухе № 2 Junkers 88
Ju-88 in flight
Вооружение Arado Dornier Blohm und Voss Fieseler Flettner Focke Wulf Heinkel Henschel Junkers Messerschmitt Боевое применение Люди и самолеты Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-