Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Br.521 Bizerte

Long Range Flying Boat

Breguet

Breguet Br.521

Br. 521 Bizerte. In 1929, Short S.8 Calcutta (tail number F-AIJB) was delivered to France. Negotiations were underway with Breguet to provide it with a production license, but in reality it was acquired to study the design and flight characteristics. In September 1929, it underwent a series of tests, as a result of which Breguet in 1931 developed the Breguet 521 Brizerte aircraft, very similar to the Short S.8. Then, on its basis, the French created the Breguet 530 Saigon airliner.

"Bizerte" had an all-metal construction. All fuel was contained in the tanks in the lower wing, with a total volume of 5250 liters. The armament consisted of two shooting points on both sides in the front of the boat (each with a 7.5-mm Darn machine gun), two more of the same immediately behind the wings and a fifth at the tail end of the fuselage. The underwing hangers carried up to 1600 kg of bombs, or two 800 kg torpedoes.

Serial "Bizertes" were equipped with 900 hp Gnome-Ron 14 Kirsl radial engines. Squadrons E2 and EZ began mastering new aircraft at the very end of 1935. Subsequently, several more small orders were issued for Br.521. The seventh "Bizerte" was handed over in March 1936, the twelfth - before the end of the year. This twelfth car had Hispano-Suiza 14AA engines (also star-shaped) and was designated Br.522. It was one of a kind - all the other Bizerti were equipped with Gnome-Ron aircraft engines.

Another series of ten flying boats was ordered on November 30, 1936. On November 12, 1937, three more aircraft were added to it. On April 10, 1937, the plant in Le Havre became part of the nationalized SNCAN concern, which did not affect the production of Bizerte. The 25th, 26th, 27th and 28th machines were delivered in September 1938.



Specification Br.521 Br.530
Crew 8 3
Dimensions
Wingspan, m 35.15 35.13
Length, m 20.50 20.33
Height, m 7.45 7.48
Powerplant
3 × PE Gnome-Rhone 14Kdrs, power, h.p. 3 × 825 -
3 × ПД Hispano-Suiza 12Ybr, мощностью л.с. - 3 × 785
Weight, kg:
Empty 9,470 8,430
Loaded weight 16,600 15,000
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 245 240
Cruising speed, km/h 200 200
Service ceiling, m 6000
Service range, km 3,000 1,100
Payload, passengers - 20

From the very beginning of hostilities, Bizerte patrolled the Atlantic Ocean and the Mediterranean Sea. On August 1, 1940, squadrons E1, E2, EZ, E5 and E9 were renamed IE, 2E, ZE, 5E and 9E, respectively. On August 15, 20 Bizertes were still in the ranks of the French fleet. Ten of them were under maintenance or repair, and one was about to be scrapped. Of the five squadrons armed with Br.521, only two remained under the Vichy government, IE and 9E. The rest were disbanded after the armistice with the Germans.

Photo Description

Drawing Br.521

Br.530 Saigon

Transport Flying Boat

Breguet Br.530 Saigon

Br. 530 Saigon - a civilian passenger version of the long-range flying boat Breguet Br.521 Bizerte.

The power plant is three Hispano-Suiza 12Ybr liquid-cooled engines with a capacity of 785 hp each. from. The commander's and co-pilot's seats were located under a raised canopy, and three cabins accommodated 20 passengers: 11 in the second class, six in the first and three in the luxury cockpit.

The first flight of a flying boat took place in May 1934. In total, only two aircraft were built, operated on the Marseille-Ajaccio-Tunis route with Air France since the beginning of 1935.

Bibliography

  • Aviation in World War II. Aircraft of France / Aviation collection 10 /
  • Aircraft of the Second World War. Seaplanes 1939-1945 / Vladimir Kotelnikov. /
  • The Complete Encyclopedia of World Aviation: Aircraft and Helicopters of the 20th Century / Donald D. /
Short Calcutta

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Brequet Br.482 Br.521/530 Br.691/693/695 Br.730 Br.790

Br.521 Bizerte

Дальняя летающая лодка

Breguet

Breguet Br.521

Br. 521 Bizerte. В 1929 году Short S.8 Calcutta (бортовой номер F- AIJB) был поставлен во Францию. Велись переговоры с компанией Breguet о предоставлении ей лицензии на производство, однако реально его приобрели для изучения конструкции и лётных характеристик. В сентябре 1929 он прошёл серию испытаний, по результатам которых фирма Breguet в 1931 разработала самолет Breguet 521 Brizerte, очень похожий на Short S.8. Затем на его базе французы создали авиалайнер Breguet 530 Saigon.

"Бизерта" имела цельнометаллическую конструкцию. Все горючее содержалось в баках в нижнем крыле, общим объёмом 5250 л. Вооружение состояло из двух стрелковых точек по обоим бортам в передней части лодки (каждая с 7,5-мм пулеметом "Дарн"), еще двух таких же сразу за крыльями и пятой в хвостовой оконечности фюзеляжа. На подкрыльных подвесках размещалось до 1600 кг бомб , или две 800-кг торпеды.

Серийные "Бизерты" оснащались звездообразными двигателями Гном-Рон 14 Kirsl по 900 л.с. Эскадрильи Е2 и ЕЗ начали освоение новых самолетов в самом конце 1935 г. Впоследствии на Вr.521 выдали еще несколько небольших заказов. Седьмую "Бизерту" сдали в марте 1936 г., двенадцатую - перед концом года. Эта двенадцатая машина имела двигатели Испано-Сюиза 14АА (тоже звездообразные) и обозначалась Вr.522 Она была единственной в своем роде - все остальные "Бизерты" оснащались авиадвигателями фирмы "Гном-Рон".

Еще одну серию из десяти летающих лодок заказали 30 ноября 1936 г. 12 ноября 1937 г. к ней добавили еще три самолета. 10 апреля 1937 г. завод в Гавре вошел в национализированный концерн SNCAN, что никак не сказалось на выпуске "Бизерт" 25-я, 26-я, 27-я и 28-я машины были сданы в сентябре 1938 г.

Характеристики Br.521 Br.530
Экипаж 8 3
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 35,15 35,13
Длина самолета, м 20,50 20,33
Высота самолета, м 7,45 7,48
Силовая установка
3 × ПД Gnome-Rhone 14Kdrs, мощностью л.с. 3 × 825 -
3 × ПД Hispano-Suiza 12Ybr, мощностью л.с. - 3 × 785
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 9470 8430
Нормальная взлетная 16600 15000
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 245 240
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 200 200
Практический потолок, м 6000
Практическая дальность, км 3000 1100
Полезная нагрузка, пасс. - 20

С самого начала боевых действий "Бизерты" патрулировали Атлантический океан и Средиземное море. С 1 августа 1940 г. эскадрильи Е1, Е2, ЕЗ, Е5 и Е9 переименовали соответственно в IE, 2E, ЗЕ, 5Е и 9Е. На 15 августа в строю авиации французского флота еще находились 20 "Бизерт". Десять из них находились на техническом обслуживании или в ремонте, а одна готовилась пойти на слом. Из пяти эскадрилий, вооруженных Вr.521, при правительстве Виши осталось только две, IE и 9Е. Остальные после перемирия с немцами расформировали.

Фото Описание

Схема Br.521

Br.530 Saigon

Транспортная летающая лодка

Breguet Br.530 Saigon

Br. 530 Saigon - гражданский пассажирский вариант дальней летающей лодки Breguet Br.521 Bizerte.

Силовая установка - три двигателя жидкостного охлаждения Hispano-Suiza 12Ybr мощностью по 785 л. с. Места командира и второго пилота располагались под приподнятым фонарем, а в трех кабинах размещались 20 пассажиров: 11 во втором классе, шесть в первом и три в кабине класса "люкс".

Первый полет летающей лодки состоялся в мае 1934 года. Всего было построено только два самолета, эксплуатировались на маршруте Марсель-Аяччо-Тунис в авиакомпании Air France с начала 1935 года.

Источники

  • Авиация во Второй Мировой войне. Самолеты Франции /Авиационный сборник 10/
  • Самолеты Второй Мировой войны. Гидросамолеты 1939-1945 /Владимир Котельников./
  • Полная энциклопедия мировой авиации: Самолеты и вертолеты XX столетия /Дональд Д./
Short Calcutta
Amiot Bloch Brequet Caudron Dewoitine Farman Latecoere Liore et Olivier Loire-Nieuport Morane-Saulnier Potez

©AirPages
2003-