Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

C.460 Rafale

Racing Aircraft

Caudron

Caudron C.460

C.460 Rafale - racing plane. The first flight in 1934. Chief Designer Engineer Riffar combined several new technical solutions in C.460, which had recently been successfully implemented on the aircraft of Norgrop, Douglas, Martin: landing flaps, fully retractable landing gear in flight and a variable pitch propeller. Special flaps that were deflected at landing, acting as flaps, made it possible to sharply increase the coefficient of lift of the wing and reduce the landing speed of the aircraft.

Compared to its predecessor, the C.460 had an improved wing profile with a pointed toe, retractable landing gear and less weight. The structure remained all-wood, as in the C.450, the shelves of the wing loggers were made of Cameroon walnut, which has twice the strength factor.

Among other things, Riffar supplied the C.460 with a new 370 hp engine. It was on this plane that Delmott set a new world speed record, exceeding the 500-kilometer mark (505.848 km / h). However, the story of the C.460 did not end there. Due to the fact that the engine had a cylinder capacity of 9.5 liters and fell under the restrictions of the regulations on the drawing of the Deitsch de la Merte Cup, Riffard built a new aircraft for the 1935 competitions with an 8-liter 330-horsepower engine. And although the power of the new engine was slightly less, the result was simply brilliant. All the same Delmott won the modified C.460 race, covering the distance at an average speed of 443.965 km / h, almost 55 km / h faster than the C.450 a year ago.

C.460 Specifications
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 6.75
Wing area, m² 6.90
Length, m 7.12
Height, m 1.80
Powerplant
1 × PE Renault 456, power, hp 1 × 310
Weight, kg:
Empty plane 530
Loaded weight 770
Gross weight 900
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 506

In 1936, S.460 was admitted to the American national competitions, during which pilot Michel Detroit not only won the Thompson Cup, but also broke the Doolittle record, which had been held since 1932, passing the entire race track at a speed of 425.19 km / h.

The С.460 went down in history as an aircraft with exceptionally high aerodynamic characteristics, having had a definite influence on the development of French fighters. Developing the concept of a light high-speed vehicle, Codron was able to create light interceptors such as CR.714 and others. Thanks to their good aerodynamics, despite rather weak engines, they could reach speeds of up to 500 km / h. For example, the 1938 Codron C.714 C-1 with a 450-horsepower engine had a speed of 485 km / h, the same as the newest fighter Moran Solnier MS 406 C-1 equipped with an 860 hp engine. But these capabilities could be realized only in flight at altitudes of the order of 3-5 km and were not compared with racing and record cars flying near the ground. In addition, the low power-to-weight ratio excluded a maneuverable air battle.

Photo Description

Drawing C.460

Bibliography

  • Aviafrance. Un siecle d'aviation francaise. Caudron C.460
  • Race for the phantom of speed / Victor Bakursky /

Add Comment


May 29, 2020.

On Soviet Yak-3 fighters, French pilots made their contribution to the defeat of Nazism in Europe. However, the decisive contribution to the defeat of fascism was made by the Soviet Union. At one time in Nyurberg, none of the participants in the tribunal dared to challenge the information voiced during the meeting that during 1941-1945. 80% of the manpower of the German Wehrmacht was destroyed by the Red Army on the Soviet-German front.
Having begun military operations in Europe on June 6, 1944 and having received their zone in Berlin, defeated by Soviet troops, today the Axis countries only consider themselves the winners in this war.

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Caudron C.440 C.460 C.670 CR.714

C.460 Rafale

Гоночный самолет

Caudron

Caudron C.460

C.460 Rafale - гоночный самолет. Первый полет 1934 г. Главный конструктор инженер Риффар соединил в С.460 сразу несколько новых технических решений, которые незадолго до этого были успешно реализованы на самолетах Норгропа, Дугласа, Мартина: посадочные щитки, полностью убирающееся в полете шасси и винт изменяемого шага. Отклоняемые на посадке специальные щитки, выполняя роль закрылков, позволяли резко повысить коэффициент подъемной силы крыла и снизить посадочную скорость самолета.

По сравнению со своим предшественником С.460 имел улучшенный профиль крыла с заостренным носком, убирающееся шасси и меньшую массу. Конструкция оставалась цельнодеревянной, как и у С.450, полки ложеронов крыла изготовлялись из камерунского ореха, имеющего в два раза больший коэффициент прочности.

Кроме всего прочего, Риффар поставил на С.460 новый двигатель мощностью 370 л.с. Именно на этом самолете Дельмотт и установил новый мировой рекорд скорости, превысив 500-километровый рубеж (505,848 км/ч). Однако история С.460 на этом не закончилась. В связи в тем, что двигатель имел объем цилиндров 9,5 л и попадал под ограничения положения о розыгрыше кубка Дейтш де-ля-Мерт, Риффар к состязаниям 1935 г. построил новый самолет с 8-литровым 330-сильным двигателем. И хотя мощность нового двигателя была несколько меньше, результат оказался просто блестящим. Все тот же Дельмотт выиграл на модифицированном С.460 гонки, пройдя дистанцию со средней скоростью 443,965 км/ч почти на 55 км/ ч быстрее, чем С.450 год назад.

Характеристики C.460
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 6,75
Площадь крыла, м² 6,90
Длина самолета, м 7,12
Высота самолета, м 1,80
Силовая установка
1 × ПД Renault 456, мощностью, л.с. 1 × 310
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 530
Нормальная взлетная 770
Максимальная взлетная 900
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 506

В 1936 г. С.460 был допущен на американские национальные состязания, во время которых летчик Мишель Детруа не только выиграл кубок Томпсона, но и побил державшийся с 1932 года рекорд Дулиттла, пройдя всю гоночную трассу со скоростью 425,19 км/ч.

С.460 вошел в историю как самолет с исключительно высокими аэродинамическими характеристиками, оказав определенное влияние на развитие французских истребителей. Развивая концепцию легкой скоростной машины, фирма Кодрон смогла создать легкие перехватчики типа CR.714 и другие. Они благодаря хорошей аэродинамике, несмотря на довольно слабые двигатели, могли развивать скорость до 500 км/ч. Например, Кодрон С.714 С-1 выпуска 1938 года с 450-сильным двигателем имел скорость 485 км/ч, такую же, что и новейший истребитель Моран Сольнье MS 406 С-1, оснащенный двигателем мощностью 860 л.с. Но эти возможности могли быть реализованы только в полете на высотах порядка 3-5 км и не сравнивались с гоночными и рекордными машинами, летающими у земли. К тому же низкая энерговооруженность исключала маневренный воздушный бой.

Фото Описание

Схема C.460

Подробно

Источники

  • Aviafrance. Un siecle d'aviation francaise. Caudron C.460
  • Гонка за призраком скорости / Виктор Бакурский/

Ваше имя (Nick):
Ваш e-mail:
Введите число 5146563:
Ваша информация:

29 05 2020.

На советских истребителях Як-3 французские летчики внесли свой посильный вклад в дело разгрома нацизма на территории Европы. Однако решающий вклад в дело разгрома фашизма внес Советский Союз. В свое время в Нюрберге никто из участников трибунала не решился оспорить прозвучавшую в ходе заседания информацию о том, что в течение 1941-1945 гг. 80% живой силы немецкого вермахта было уничтожено Красной Армией на советско-германском фронте.
Начав войсковые операции в Европе 6 июня 1944 года и получив свою зону в поверженном советскими войсками Берлине, сегодня страны оси только себя считают победителями в этой войне.

Amiot Bloch Brequet Caudron Dewoitine Farman Latecoere Liore et Olivier Loire-Nieuport Morane-Saulnier Potez

©AirPages
2003-