Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

C.670

Light Reconnaissance Bomber

Caudron

Caudron C.670

C.670 - Light reconnaissance bomber. The first prototype C.670-01 left the workshops of the Billancourt plant in March 1937 and made its first flight in Guyancourt within a month and then made four or five flights in the following days.

C.670 structurally was a twin-engine low-wing cantilever with a cockpit shifted far back and low engine power of the power plant.

The low-lying trapezoidal wing had an all-wood structure. The wing skin was working and was made from five-ply plywood. The thickness of the wing skin gradually decreased from the roots and tips. Ailerons were covered with linen.

The aircraft fuselage essentially consisted of two vertical halves. The fuselage could be divided into four parts along its length. In the front of the first part there was a bombardier's post, behind it was a bomb bay, the doors of which opened under the influence of gravity. Behind the bomb bay in the central part of the fuselage was a large double glazed cockpit, in which the pilot and gunner were in tandem seats. Behind the cockpit was the conical tail section of the fuselage.

The horizontal stabilizer was located at the top of the fuselage. The angle of attack of the stabilizer was adjusted from the cockpit using a worm gear. The elevators and rudders had a wooden power set and linen sheathing.

The power plant consisted of two six-cylinder inverted in-line Renault 454 engines, which at an altitude of 4000 meters developed a rated power of 220 hp and rotated two-blade metal Ratier propellers with an electric pitch change mechanism.

In the rear of the engine nacelles, welded from steel pipes, the main landing gear was located between the two wing spars. Each of the struts consisted of a wheel and two Messier oil / air shock absorbers. The racks were removed and released using a hydraulic drive. The tail wheel was also retractable.

C.670 Specifications
Crew 3
Dimensions
Wing span, m 14.80
Wing area, m² 28.00
Length, m 11.60
Height, m 3.00
Powerplant
2 × PE Renault 454, power, hp 2 × 220
Weight, kg:
Empty plane 2,147
Gross weight 3,704
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 405
Cruising speed, km/h 382
Service range, km 900
Service ceiling, m 9,100
Armament
2 × 20 mm HS9 cannon, 1 × 7.5 mm MAC-34 machine gun, bombs up to, kg 500

The crew consisted of a bombardier, pilot and gunner. The pilot of the aircraft, performing the duties of the crew commander, occupied the front of the two-seat cockpit, which was shifted far back and which had a good view forward and upward. Protection of the rear hemisphere was assigned to the gunner behind the pilot. The shooter's seat was swivel with locking in the front and rear positions. When the seat was fixed with the position of the shooter facing forward, he could perform the functions of the co-pilot and radio operator; when fixed in the rear position, the shooter could fire from a machine gun.

The first crew member was placed in the forward fuselage, separate from the rest; the front compartment was accessed through a sliding door, and in flight the bombardier could easily move in the compartment. Side view in the bombardier's cockpit was provided by two cellon windows located on both sides of the fuselage. Aiming was carried out using a removable hatch and a bomber sight located at the level of the cabin floor. During reconnaissance flights, the bombardier compartment was equipped with a camera.

Armament of the aircraft consisted of two 20mm HS9 cannons mounted in front of the fuselage. Each of the cannons had a charger for 60 shells, in addition, the guns could be equipped with magazines for 30 shells, placed on special racks near the place of the bombardier, responsible for reloading the guns and firing. The pilot opened fire with a pneumatic actuator mounted on the control stick;

7.5-mm machine gun MAC-34, mounted in the rear of the two-seat cockpit and placed on a special adjustable support with mechanical correction during firing. Folding panels made it possible to shoot downward, significantly increasing the sector of fire; however, given the speeds developed by the aircraft, the effectiveness of this solution was questionable). In the stowed position, the machine gun was moved to the rear of the cockpit and rigidly fixed by a simple blocking of the support and then covered with a fairing. The supports were attached to the floor of the fuselage, where there were eight magazines with one hundred rounds in each.

Bomb load - two 100-kg bombs for striking deep in enemy defenses or two 250-kg bombs for striking close targets.

Photo Description

Drawing C.670

Bibliography

  • Experienced light multipurpose combat aircraft Caudron-Renault C.670 / Ivan Byakin /
  • The Complete Encyclopedia of World Aviation: Aircraft and Helicopters of the 20th Century / Donald D. /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Caudron C.440 C.460 C.670 CR.714

C.670

Легкий бомбардировщик-разведчик

Caudron

Caudron C.670

C.670 - Легкий бомбардировщик-разведчик. Первый прототип C.670-01 покинул цеха завода Бийянкур (Billancourt), в марте 1937 года и в течение месяца совершил первый полет в Гвианкуре (Guyancourt) и затем в последующие дни выполнил четыре или пять полетов.

C.670 конструктивно представлял собой двухмоторный свободнонесущий низкоплан со сдвинутой далеко назад кабиной и малой мощностью двигателей силовой установки.

Низкорасположенное крыло трапециевидной формы имело цельнодеревянную конструкцию. Обшивка крыла была работающей и изготавливалась из пятислойной фанеры. Толщина обшивки крыла постепенно уменьшалась от корневых частей и законцовкам. Элероны имели полотняную обшивку.

Фюзеляж самолета по существу состоял из двух вертикальных половин. По длине фюзеляж можно было разделить на четыре части. В передней первой части находился пост бомбардира, за ним располагался бомбоотсек, створки которого открывались под действием силы тяжести. За бомбоотсеком в центральной части фюзеляжа размещалась большая двухместная застекленная кабина, в которой в установленных тандемом сиденьях находились пилот и стрелок. За кабиной находилась коническая хвостовая часть фюзеляжа.

Стабилизатор горизонтального оперения был расположен у верхней части фюзеляжа. Угол атаки стабилизатора регулировался из кабины пилота при помощи червячной передачи. Рули высоты и направления имели деревянный силовой набор и полотняную обшивку.

Силовая установка состояла из двух шестицилиндровых инвертированных рядных двигателей Renault 454, которые на высоте 4000 метров развивали номинальную мощность 220 л.с.. и вращали двухлопастные металлические винты Ratier с электроприводом механизма изменения шага.

В задних частях моторных гондол, сваренных из стальных труб, между двумя лонжеронами крыла размещались основные стойки шасси. Каждая из стоек состояла из колеса и двух масляно-пневматических амортизаторов Messier. Уборка и выпуск стоек выполнялись при помощи гидравлического привода. Хвостовое колесо также было убирающимся.

Характеристики C.670
Экипаж 3
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 14,80
Площадь крыла, м² 28,00
Длина самолета, м 11,60
Высота самолета, м 3,00
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Renault 454, мощностью, л.с. 2 × 220
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 2147
Максимальная взлетная 3704
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 405
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 382
Практическая дальность, км 900
Практический потолок, м 9100
Воружение
2×20-мм пушки HS9, 1×7,5-мм пулемет MAC-34, бомб до, кг 500

Экипаж состоял из бомбардира, пилота и стрелка. Пилот самолета, выполнявший обязанности командира экипажа, занимал переднюю часть двухместной кабины, которая была сдвинута далеко назад и которая обладала хорошим обзором вперед и вверх. Защита задней полусферы возлагалась на размещавшегося позади пилота стрелка. Сиденье стрелка было поворотным с фиксацией в переднем и заднем положениях. При фиксации сиденья с расположением стрелка лицом вперед он мог выполнять функции второго пилота и радиста, при фиксации в заднем положении стрелок мог вести огонь из пулемета.

Первый член экипажа размещался в носовой части фюзеляжа отдельно от остальных; доступ в передний отсек осуществлялся через раздвижную дверцу, и в полете бомбардир без труда мог перемещаться в отсеке. Боковой обзор в кабине бомбардира обеспечивался двумя окнами из целлона, расположенными по обеим сторонам фюзеляжа. Прицеливание осуществлялось с помощью съемного люка и бомбардировочного прицела, расположенного на уровне пола кабины. Во время выполнения разведывательных полетов отсек бомбардира оснащался фотокамерой.

Вооружение самолета состояло из двух 20-мм пушек HS9, установленных в передней части фюзеляжа. Каждая из пушек имела зарядное устройство на 60 снарядов, кроме того пушки могли оснащаться магазинами на 30 снарядов, размещенными на специальных стойках рядом с местом бомбардира, ответственного за перезарядку пушек и ведение стрельбы. Пилот открывал огонь при помощи пневмопривода, установленного на ручке управления;

7,5-мм пулемет MAC-34, установленный в задней части двухместной кабины и размещенный на специальной регулируемой опоре с механической коррекцией при ведении стрельбы. Откидные панели делали возможной стрельбу вниз, заметно увеличивая сектора обстрела; однако учитывая развиваемые самолетом скорости эффективность этого решения была сомнительной). В походном положении пулемет был отодвинут в заднюю часть кабины и жестко фиксируется простой блокировкой опоры после чего покрыт обтекателем. Опоры крепились к полу фюзеляжа, где находились восемь магазинов со ста патронами в каждом.

Бомбовая нагрузка - две 100-кг бомбы для нанесения ударов в глубине обороны противника или две 250-кг бомбы для ударов по ближним целям;

Фото Описание

Схема C.670

Источники

  • Опытный легкий многоцелевой боевой самолет Caudron-Renault C.670 /Иван Бякин/
  • Полная энциклопедия мировой авиации: Самолеты и вертолеты XX столетия /Дональд Д./
Amiot Bloch Brequet Caudron Dewoitine Farman Latecoere Liore et Olivier Loire-Nieuport Morane-Saulnier Potez

©AirPages
2003-