Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

FBD-1

Fighter-Bomber

CCF

FBD-1 Fighter-Bomber

Gregor FDB-1 (Fighter Dive Bomber) is a Canadian biplane fighter, designed in 1938 by Michael Gregor and built by Canadian Car and Foundry. The aircraft at the time had an innovative, cutting-edge design, an all-metal airframe, the use of blind rivets, retractable main landing gear and clean aerodynamic shapes.

In 1938, an emigrant from Russia and a naturalized American, Michael Gregor (born in Georgia as Mikhail Leontyevich Grigorashvili) joined the Canadian Car & Foundry company, which in those years was a leading manufacturer of buses and railway equipment with limited experience in construction aircraft, wanted to expand its share in the aviation market.

The first test flight took place on December 17, 1938, the test pilot noted poor downward visibility due to the straight gull of the upper wing, excessive sensitivity of the controls and too large a deflection angle of the flaps. Among the innovations introduced into the design of the FDB-1 was an anti-propeller parachute housed in the tail cone, operated by a switch from the cockpit.

FDB-1 has demonstrated high maneuverability. At altitudes below 4600 m, despite the high speed of the enemy, no modern single-seat low-wing fighter could successfully withstand Gregor's car, which, with a rate of climb of 3500 fpm (1070 m / min), was one third higher than the corresponding parameters of the new Hurricane and Spitfire fighters. ... However, Michael Gregor's prototype car was never tested with weapons.

Although the Mexican Air Force has shown interest in the aircraft, the Canadian government has refused to issue an export license. There were no other potential customers for a biplane fighter in the monoplane era, and after several years of storage in a hangar at a Montreal airport in 1945, the plane was destroyed by a sudden fire, and Michael Gregor himself sank into obscurity, becoming the designer of a small company Chase Aircraft.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
FBD-1 Specification
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wingspan, m 8.53
Wing area, m² 18.02
Length, m 6.60
Height, m 2.86
Powerplant
1×PE Pratt Whitney R-1535-SB4-G Twin Wasp Junior, h.p. 750
Weights and Loads, kg
Empty weight 1,306
Gross weight 1,860
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 420
Cruising speed, km/h 386
Maximum rate of climb, m/min 852
Service ceiling, m 8,200
Service range, km 853
Armament
2 × 12.7 mm machine gun, bombs, kg
Photo Description

Drawing FDB-1

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • War Planes of the Second World War / Green, William /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Bolinbroke FDB-1

FBD-1

Истребитель-бомбардировщик

CCF

FBD-1 Истребитель-бомбардировщик

Gregor FDB-1 (Fighter Dive Bomber) - канадский истребитель-биплан, спроектированный в 1938 году Майклом Грегором (Michael Gregor) и построенный компаний Canadian Car and Foundry. Самолет на то время имел передовую инновационную конструкцию, цельнометаллический планер, использование заклепок впотай, убирающиеся основные опоры шасси и чистые аэродинамические формы.

В 1938 году эмигрант из России и натурализованный американец Майкл Грегор (был рожден в Грузии как Михаил Леонтьевич Григорашвили) поступил на работу в компанию Canadian Car & Foundry, которая в те годы была ведущим производителем автобусов и железнодорожного оборудования и имея ограниченный опыт постройки самолетов, хотела расширить свою долю на авиационном рынке.

Первый испытательный полет состоялся 17 декабря 1938 года, летчик испытатель отмечал плохой обзор вниз из-за прямой чайки верхнего крыла, излишнюю чувствительность органов управления и слишком большой угол отклонения закрылков. Среди нововведений, внедренных в конструкцию FDB-1, был размещенный в хвостовом конусе противоштопорный парашют, приводящийся в действие переключателем из кабины.

FDB-1 продемонстрировал высокую маневренность. На высотах ниже 4600 м, несмотря на высокую скорость противника, ни один современный одноместный истребитель-низкоплан не мог успешно противостоять машине Грегора, которая со скороподъемностью 3500 фт/мин (1070 м/мин) на треть превосходила значения соответствующих параметров новых истребителей Hurricane и Spitfire. Однако, прототип машины Майкла Грегора никогда не был испытан с вооружением.

Хотя к самолету проявили интерес мексиканские ВВС, правительство Канады отказалось выдать экспортную лицензию. Других потенциальных клиентов на истребитель-биплан в эпоху монопланов не нашлось, и после нескольких лет хранения в ангаре монреальского аэропорта в 1945 г. самолет был уничтожен огнем внезапно вспыхнувшего пожара, а сам Майкл Грегор канул в неизвестность, став конструктором небольшой компании Chase Aircraft.

Характеристики FBD-1
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 8,53
Площадь крыла, м² 18,02
Длина самолета, м 6,60
Высота самолета, м 2,86
Силовая установка
1×ПД Pratt Whitney R-1535-SB4-G Twin Wasp Junior, л.с. 750
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 1306
Максимальная взлетная 1860
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 420
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 386
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин 852
Практический потолок, м 8200
Практическая дальность, км 853
Вооружение
2 × 12,7 мм пулемета, бомб, кг
Фото Описание

Схема Gregor FDB-1

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • " War Planes of the Second World War:" /Green, William/
Франция R C A F R A A F R N Z A F Нидерланды Италия Румыния Аргентина Фото и схемы

©AirPages
2003-