Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Late 298

Float Torpedo Bomber

Latecoere

Late 298

The Late 298 float torpedo bomber was a cantilever monoplane with a 12-cylinder V-shaped liquid-cooled Hispano-Suiza 12Ycrsl engine with a capacity of 880 hp. The two-spar all-metal wing was divided into four sections. The fuselage was an all-metal structure with a load-bearing skin and had a rectangular cross-section. The crew consisted of two or three people. One torpedo "type 1926 DA" weighing 670 kg was placed in a semi-recessed position on the ventral suspension.

The horizontal tail was all-metal, and the vertical one had metal frames and wooden ribs, covered with canvas. Each of the large single-edged floats contained a 260-liter fuel tank. The floats were attached to the wings with N-shaped struts and paired struts - to the fuselage.

The first flight took place on May 8, 1936, factory tests were completed on September 24, 1936. During the tests, a pipe was introduced into the chassis, connecting both floats. It was preserved on all subsequent aircraft.

On March 17, 1937, the French fleet ordered 36 seaplanes, 12 of which had to be distinguished by the folding of the outer wing sections for operation on the Commandan Test floating base.

At the beginning of World War II, the French fleet had four squadrons armed with Late 298. On May 10, 1940, when the Germans launched their offensive, five squadrons had 10 Late 298 each. T1, T2 and TZ were based in Cherbourg and Boulogne, while T4, HB1 and HB2 were on the Mediterranean coast of France. The last two squadrons were stationed ashore after the Commandan Test was turned into a transport.

An example of combat operations of squadrons armed with Late 298 is the departure on 23 May. 18 seaplanes dropped 500-kg bombs from a dive onto bridges and road junctions between Boulogne and the Somme River. We lost three planes shot down by Bf 109E fighters, and one destroyed by German anti-aircraft guns. If it weren't for the Late 298's outstanding survivability and durability, as well as the excellent maneuverability, the losses would undoubtedly have been much greater.

Night flights were safer, so Late 298 was used more often at night. Among the targets attacked under cover of darkness was, for example, the bridge over the Somme at Noelle. The TZ squadron bombed him on the night of June 10.

The production of seaplanes was resumed in March 1942 with the consent of the German Control Commission. 30 aircraft of the Late 298F modification were ordered. They were identical to the Late 298D except for some simplified steering. After the events of November 1942, workers at the Berra plant sabotaged the supply of aircraft to the Germans.

Late 298A Specification
Crew 3
Dimensions
Wing span, m 15.50
Wing area, m² 31.60
Length, m 12.56
Height, m 5.25
Powerplant
1 × PE Hispano-Suiza 12 Ycrs, power, hp 1 × 880
Weight, kg:
Empty plane 3060
Loaded weight 4,795
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 290
Cruising speed, km/h 245
Service range, km 2,200
Service ceiling, m 6,500

Armament. Two fixed and one manually guided 7.5 mm Darne machine gun, one 670 kg Type DA torpedo or up to 500 kg bombs, or three depth charges, or nine flares.



Modifications

  • Late 298A - with non-folding wings for coastal bases, crew of 3 people. (with torpedo - 2 persons).
  • Late 298B - with folding wings and horizontal tail ends, new flaps divided into two parts, dual control; crew - 4 people, intended for operation on floating bases.
  • Late 298D - analogue of Late 298B with non-folding wing.
  • Late 298F - a simplified version of the Late 298D with 3 × 7.5 + 2 × 7.69 weapons.
Photo Description

Latecoere 298

Bibliography

  • Marine bomber - torpedo bomber Latecoere Late 298 / Andrey Krumkach. /
  • Aircraft of the Second World War. Seaplanes 1939-1945 / Vladimir Kotelnikov. /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Latecoere Late 298 Late 631

Late 298

Поплавковый торпедоносец

Latecoere

Late 298

Поплавковый торпедоносец Late 298 представлял собой свободнонесущий моноплан с 12-цилиндровым V-образным двигателем жидкостного охлаждения Испано-Сюиза 12Ycrsl мощностью 880 л.с. Двухлонжеронное цельнометаллическое крыло делилось на четыре секции. Фюзеляж являлся цельнометаллической конструкцией с несущей обшивкой и имел прямоугольное сечение. Экипаж состоял из двух или трех человек. Одна торпеда "тип 1926 DA" весом 670 кг размещалась в полуутопленном положении на подфюзеляжной подвеске.

Горизонтальное оперение было цельнометаллическим, а вертикальное имело металлические шпангоуты и деревянные нервюры, обтянутые полотном. В каждом из больших однореданных поплавков размещался бак на 260 л горючего. Поплавки крепились к крыльям N-образными стойками и парными подкосами - к фюзеляжу.

Первый полет состоялся 8 мая 1936 года, заводские испытания завершились 24 сентября 1936 г. Во время испытаний в шасси ввели трубу, соединявшую оба поплавка. Она сохранилась и на всех последующих самолетах.

17 марта 1937 г. французский флот заказал 36 гидропланов, 12 из которых должны были отличаться складыванием наружных секций крыла для эксплуатации на плавбазе "Коммандан Тест".

В начале Второй мировой французский флот обладал четырьмя эскадрильями, вооруженными Late 298. На 10 мая 1940 г., когда немцы начали свое наступление, пять эскадрилий имели по 10 Late 298 каждая. Т1, Т2 и ТЗ базировались в Шербуре и Булони, а Т4, НВ1 и НВ2 находились на средиземноморском побережье Франции. Две последние эскадрильи располагались на берегу, после того как "Коммандан Тест" превратили в транспорт.

Примером боевых операций эскадрилий, вооруженных Late 298, можно считать вылет 23 мая. 18 гидропланов сбросили с пикирования 500-кг бомбы на мосты и перекрестки дорог между Булонью и рекой Соммой. Потеряли три самолета, сбитых истребителями Bf 109Е, и один, уничтоженный немецкими зенитками. Если бы не выдающаяся живучесть и прочность, а также прекрасная маневренность Late 298, потери несомненно были бы значительно больше.

Ночные вылеты были более безопасны, поэтому Late 298 стали использовать чаще по ночам. Среди целей, атакованных под покровом темноты, был, например, мост через Сомму в Ноэлле. Эскадрилья ТЗ бомбила его в ночь на 10 июня.

Производство гидропланов возобновили в марте 1942 г. с согласия германской контрольной комиссии. Заказано было 30 самолетов модификации Late 298F. Они были идентичны Late 298D за исключением некоторого упрощения рулевого управления. После событий ноября 1942 г. работники завода в Берре саботировали поставки самолетов немцам.

Характеристики Late 298A
Экипаж 3
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 15,50
Площадь крыла, м² 31,60
Длина самолета, м 12,56
Высота самолета, м 5,25
Силовая установка
1 × ПД Hispano-Suiza 12 Ycrs мощностью, л.с. 1 × 880
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 3060
Нормальная взлетная 4795
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 290
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 245
Практическая дальность, км 2200
Практический потолок, м 6500

Вооружение. Два неподвижных и один наводящийся вручную 7,5-мм пулемет Darne, одна 670-кг торпеда Type DA или до 500 кг бомб, или три глубинных бомбы, или девять осветительных ракет.

Модификации

  • Late 298A - с нескладывающимися крыльями для береговых баз, экипажем 3 чел. (с торпедой - 2 чел.).
  • Late 298B - со складывающимися крыльями и законцовками горизонтального оперения, новыми разделенными на две части щитками, двойным управлением; экипаж - 4 чел., предназначался для эксплуатации на плавбазах.
  • Late 298D - аналог Late 298B с нескладывающимся крылом.
  • Late 298F - упрощенный вариант Late 298D с вооружением 3×7,5+2×7,69.
Фото Описание

Latecoere 298

Источники

  • Морской бомбардировщик - торпедоносец Latecoere Late 298 /Андрей Крумкач./
  • Самолеты Второй Мировой войны. Гидросамолеты 1939-1945 /Владимир Котельников./
Amiot Bloch Brequet Caudron Dewoitine Farman Latecoere Liore et Olivier Loire-Nieuport Morane-Saulnier Potez

©AirPages
2003-