Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

NC 223.3

Night Bomber

Farman (SNCAC)

NC.223 in flight

Night bomber NC 223.3 by SNCAC (Societe nationale de constructions aeronau-tiques du Center) - Farman plant in Boulogne-Billancourt. First flight on May 26, 1932 (F.220.01) Flight tests continued until February 4, 1939. The Air Ministry ordered the first series of eight NC.223.3 BN5 bombers. Production was launched in Biyancourt, where at the end of 1939 the first aircraft was assembled. He took off into the air at Toussoux-le-Noble. The second serial NC.223.3 took off on January 10, 1940, and the eighth bomber, the last in the first series, followed on March 28. The plant continued to operate with a new order issued the previous year.

The serial NC.223.3, as well as the experienced ones, had Hispano-Suiza 12Y29 motors. They were housed in pairs in the nacelles; in each nacelle there was one engine with a pusher and one with a pulling propeller. The all-metal wing had three spars connected by truss ribs. All wing skin was smooth duralumin. The wing was divided into two parts, attached directly to the main fuselage frames. From the nacelles there was one strut to the wing. The nacelles themselves, in turn, were connected by a system of struts with the fuselage.

The main landing gear from the hydraulic cylinders was retracted forward into the nacelle compartments between the engines. The fuselage of rectangular cross-section had an all-metal structure with a supporting duralumin sheathing. The navigator-bombardier was sitting in the very nose of the plane. He had a 7.5-mm machine gun on a mobile installation. The radio operator was also located in the bow, in front and below the pilot's cabin, in which two pilots sat side by side. The bomb bay was divided lengthwise into two halves by a pedestrian bridge going along the axis. The upper and lower turrets were equipped with 20 mm HS404 cannons. All gas tanks were in the wing, their total capacity was 6,000 liters.

NC.223.3 Specification
Crew 5-6
Dimensions
Wing span, m 33.60
Wing area, m² 132.60
Length, m 22.00
Height, m 5.10
Powerplant
4 × PE Hispano-Suiza 14Aa-08, power, hp 4×1100
Weight, kg:
Empty plane 9,000
Loaded weight 18,000
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 420
Cruising speed, km/h 330
Service range, km 2,400
Service ceiling, m 8,000
Armament
3 × 7.5 mm MAC 1934 machine gun, 20 mm HS 404 cannon, bombs up to, kg 4190

Combat use . The first two NC.223.3 bombers were handed over to GB 1/15 on May 24, 1940. Together with the F.222 of this unit, they participated in night raids on Germany in the first weeks of June. On June 15, when GB 1/15 received the order to fly to North Africa, this unit possessed four NC.223.3s (with serial numbers 2, 4, 8 and 9). The second group of heavy bombers, GB II / 15, received the same number of NC.223.3. But they did not participate in combat operations, since the crews were just retraining for new equipment when this group was sent to Africa. One of the four aircraft (No. 4) had to be abandoned along the way due to damage sustained from an unsuccessful landing at Sen'Yan. In July 1940, GB 1/15 was ordered to hand over three NC.223.3s to Air France for conversion into long-range mail aircraft. Aircraft numbered 2,8 and 9 received the civil designations F-BAFM, F-BAFR and F-BAGR, respectively. GB 11/15 also gave one of their NC.223.3 (No.10) to Air France. It turned into F-BAAG. All of these aircraft were equipped with seats for eight passengers and additional fuel tanks in the bomb bay, which increased the stock to 3400 liters.

Another NC.223.3 entered Lebanon and was then operated as a transport by the Free French forces with the civil designation FL-AFM. He worked on the routes linking Lebanon, Madagascar and Central Africa.

The remaining vehicles, along with the F.222 and F.224, served in the GB 1/15 transport group of the Vichy air force at the Salé base in Morocco, and then Maison Blanche near Algeria. It was the same GB 1/15, which was turned into a transport one on October 10, 1940. The NC.223.3 from GB II / 15, disbanded on September 30, 1940, also joined it.

Photo Description
Drawing NC 223.3 SNCAC

Drawing NC 223.3 SNCAC

Bibliography

  • Aviation collection. Aircraft of France
  • The Complete Encyclopedia of World Aviation / Donald D. /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Farman (SNCAC) NC 223.3 NC 223.4 NC 150

NC 223.3

Ночной бомбардировщик

Farman (SNCAC)

NC.223 в полете

Ночной бомбардировщик NC 223.3 производства SNCAC (Societe nationale de constructions aeronau-tiques du Centre) - завод «Фарман» в Булонь-Бийянкуре. Первый полет 26 мая 1932 г. (F.220.01) Лётные испытания продолжались до 4 февраля 1939 г. Министерство авиации заказало первую серию из восьми бомбардировщиков NC.223.3 BN5. Производство развернули в Бийянкуре, где в конце 1939 г. собрали первый самолет. В воздух он поднялся в Туссу-ле-Нобль. Второй серийный NC.223.3 взлетел 10 января 1940 г., а восьмой бомбардировщик, последний в первой серии, последовал за ними 28 марта. Завод продолжил работу, выполняя новый заказ, выданный в предыдущем году.

На серийных NC.223.3, так же как и на опытных, стояли моторы Испано-Сюиза 12Y29. Они размещались в мотогондолах попарно; в каждой гондоле находился один двигатель с толкающим и один с тянущим винтом. Крыло цельнометаллической конструкции имело три лонжерона, связанных ферменными нервюрами. Вся обшивка крыла была гладкой дюралевой. Крыло делилось на две части, крепившиеся напрямую к главным шпангоутам фюзеляжа. От мотогондол шло по одному подкосу к крылу. Сами мотогондолы, в свою очередь, соединялись системой подкосов с фюзеляжем.

Основные стойки шасси от гидроцилиндров убирались вперед в отсеки мотогондол между двигателями. Фюзеляж прямоугольного сечения имел цельнометаллическую конструкцию с несущей дюралевой обшивкой. Штурман-бомбардир сидел в самом носу самолета. У него на подвижной установке стоял 7,5-мм пулемет. Радист располагался тоже в носовой части, впереди и ниже пилотской кабины, в которой бок о бок сидели два летчика. Бомбоотсек разделялся вдоль на две половины шедшим по оси пешеходным мостиком. В верхней и нижней турелях стояли 20-мм пушки HS404. Все бензобаки находились в крыле, их общая емкость составляла 6000 л.

Характеристики NC.223.3 BN5
Экипаж 5-6
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 33,60
Площадь крыла, м² 132,60
Длина самолета, м 22,00
Высота самолета, м 5,10
Силовая установка
4×ПД Hispano-Suiza 14Aa-08, мощностью, л.с. 4×1100
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 9000
Нормальная взлетная 18000
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 420
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 330
Практическая дальность, км 2400
Практический потолок, м 8000
Вооружение
3 × 7,5-мм пулемета МАС 1934, 20-мм пушка HS 404, бомб до, кг 4190

Боевое применение. Первые два бомбардировщика NC.223.3 передали группе GB 1/15 24 мая 1940 г. Они вместе с F.222 этой части участвовали в ночных налетах на Германию в первые недели июня. 15 июня, когда GB 1/15 получила приказ перелететь в Северную Африку, эта часть обладала четырьмя NC.223.3 (с заводскими No. 2, 4, 8 и 9). Вторая группа тяжелых бомбардировщиков, GB II/15 приняла столько же NC.223.3. Но в боевых операциях они не участвовали, поскольку экипажи как раз переучивались на новую технику, когда и эту группу направили в Африку. Один из четырех самолетов (No. 4) пришлось оставить по пути из-за повреждений, полученных при неудачной посадке в Сен'Яне. В июле 1940 г. группа GB 1/15 получила приказ сдать три NC.223.3 авиакомпании "Эр Франс" для переделки в почтовые самолеты большого радиуса действия. Самолеты с номерами 2,8 и 9 получили соответственно гражданские обозначения F-BAFM, F-BAFR и F-BAGR. Группа GB 11/15 тоже отдала один из своих NC.223.3 (No.10) "Эр Франс". Он превратился в F-BAAG. Все эти самолеты оборудовали креслами для восьми пассажиров и дополнительными топливными баками в бомбоотсеке, увеличившими запас до 3400 л.

Еще один NC.223.3 попал в Ливан и затем эксплуатировался как транспортный силами "Свободной Франции" с гражданскими обозначениями FL-AFM. Он работал на трассах, связывавших Ливан, Мадагаскар и Центральную Африку.

Оставшиеся машины вместе с F.222 и F.224 служили в транспортной группе GB 1/15 авиации Виши на базе Сале в Марокко, а затем Мезон-Бланш под Алжиром. Это была та же GB 1/15, которую превратили в транспортную с 10 октября 1940 г. В нее влились и NC.223.3 из GB II/15, расформированной 30 сентября 1940 г.

Фото Описание

Схема NC 223.3 SNCAC

Источники

  • Авиационный сборник. Самолеты Франции
  • Полная энциклопедия мировой авиации /Дональд Д./
Amiot Bloch Brequet Caudron Dewoitine Farman Latecoere Liore et Olivier Loire-Nieuport Morane-Saulnier Potez

©AirPages
2003-