Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

SAI.403 Dardo
Истребитель
Ambrosini

SAI 207

The SAI 403 Dardo ("Arrow") project was presented in early 1942. The differences from the SAI 207 were a slightly modified fuselage and tail, a larger wing area, and a new Isotta-Fraschini "Delta" RC.21 / 60 engine with a Piaggio 3-blade constant pitch propeller. The design of the aircraft was maximally adapted for serial production. As for performance characteristics, SAI-Ambrosini promised an even greater increase in speed while maintaining the same flight characteristics, which was later confirmed by prototype tests. Initially, the Italian Ministry of Aviation ordered 2,000 production copies of the SAI 207, but in January 1943, plans changed towards establishing production of 3,000 SAI 403.

The first prototype SAI 403 was built by the end of 1942 and flown in January 1943. The aircraft was demonstrated to the German representatives who were present during the tests, and several Luftwaffe pilots tested it in flight. On SAI 403, a Japanese pilot made several flights, who was at the same time in Germany.

SAI.403 Specifications
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 9.80
Wing area, m² 14.42
Length, m 8.20
Height, m 2.90
Powerplant
1 × PE Isotta-Fraschini R.C.21/60, power, hp 1×750
Weight, kg
Empty 1,983
Loaded weight 2,640
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 648
Cruising speed, km/h 512
Rate of climb, m/min 800
Service range, km 937
Service ceiling, m 9,800
Armament
Two 12.7 mm Breda-SAFAT machine guns (175 rounds each)

Armament. Two 20 mm Mauser MG 151/20 cannons (200 rounds per barrel) and two 12.7 mm Breda-SAFAT machine guns (200 rounds per barrel)

According to the test results, the test pilots were almost unanimous in their opinion that the fighter should be urgently put into mass production. The Italian allies especially liked the fact that the release of the SAI 403 did not require the use of strategically important materials, since the fighter's structure was mostly wooden and could withstand significant overloads.

In the summer of 1943, SAI-Ambrosini practically formalized agreements for the licensed production of SAI 403 at the Heinkel factories in Germany and Mitsubishi in Japan, but in September, having signed a truce with the allies, the new Italian government actually split the country in two. Within a few days, the German command disarmed the Italian army and ferried most of the aircraft remaining in the occupied territory to Germany. The SAI-403 did not escape this fate, the Germans continued testing it, but already in their own test center (see photo above), where, since 1944, traces of the fighter are lost.

Photo Description

Drawing SAI.403

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • Light Fighter - Interceptor Ambrosini S.A.I. 207 \ S.A.I. 403 "Dardo" / Andrey Krumkach /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты SAI Ambrosini SAI SS.4 SAI.207 SAI.403

SAI.403 Dardo
Истребитель
Ambrosini

SAI 207

Проект SAI 403 Dardo ("Стрела") был представлен в начале 1942 года. Отличиями от SAI 207 был несколько видоизмененный фюзеляж и хвостовое оперение, крыло большей площади, а также новый двигатель Isotta-Fraschini "Delta" RC.21/60 с 3-лопастным винтом фирмы Piaggio постоянного шага. Конструкция самолёта было максимально адаптирована для серийного выпуска. Что касается ТТХ, то SAI-Ambrosini обещала ещё больший прирост в скорости при сохранении прежних лётных качеств, что подтвердилось впоследствии испытаниями прототипа. Первоначально итальянское министерство авиации заказало 2000 серийных экземпляров SAI 207, но в январе 1943 года планы поменялись в сторону налаживания производства 3000 SAI 403.

Первый прототип SAI 403 построили к концу 1942 года и облетали в январе 1943 г. Самолёт продемонстрировали немецким представителям, которые присутствовали при испытаниях, и несколько пилотов Luftwaffe опробовали его в полёте. На SAI 403 сделал несколько полетов японский пилот, который в то же время пребывал в Германии.

Характеристики SAI.403
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 9,80
Площадь крыла, м² 14,42
Длина самолета, м 8,20
Высота самолета, м 2,90
Силовая установка
1×ПД Isotta-Fraschini R.C.21/60, мощностью, л.с. 1×750
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 1983
Нормальная взлетная 2640
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 648
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 512
Скороподъемность, м/мин 800
Практическая дальность, км 937
Практический потолок, м 9800
Вооружение
два 12,7-мм пулемета Breda-SAFAT (по 175 патронов)

Вооружение. Две 20-мм пушки Mauser MG 151/20 (200 патронов на ствол) и два 12,7-мм пулемета Breda-SAFAT (200 патронов на ствол)

По результатам испытаний лётчики-испытатели были практически единодушны во мнении - истребитель нужно срочно запускать в серийное производство. Особенно итальянским союзникам понравился тот, факт, что при выпуске SAI 403 не требовалось использование стратегически важных материалов, поскольку конструкция истребителя была большей частью деревянной и могла при этом выдерживать значительные перегрузки.

Летом 1943 года SAI-Ambrosini практически оформила договоренности на лицензионный выпуск SAI 403 на заводах фирмы Heinkel в Германии и Mitsubishi в Японии, однако в сентябре, подписав перемирие с союзниками новое итальянское правительство фактически раскололо страну надвое. Немецкое командование в течении нескольких дней разоружило итальянскую армию и перегнало в Германию большую часть оставшихся на оккупированной территории самолётов. Не избежал этой участи и SAI-403, немцы продолжили его испытания, но уже в собственном испытательном центре (см. фото вверху), где с 1944 года следы истребителя теряются.

Фото Описание

Схема SAI.403

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • Лёгкий истребитель - перехватчик Ambrosini S.A.I. 207 \ S.A.I. 403 "Dardo" /Андрей Крумкач/
SAI Ambrosini Breda Caproni FIAT IMAM Macchi Piaggio Reggiane Savoia-Marchetti CANT

©AirPages
2003-