Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

SM.89
Attack Aircraft
Savoia Marchetti

SM.89

The SM.89 attack aircraft, based on the SM.84 three-engined torpedo bomber, was its twin-engined version with the most powerful armament ever seen on an RAF aircraft. The transition to a twin-engine design made it possible to completely redesign the nose of the fuselage, creating a cockpit with a significantly improved visibility compared to the SM.84. At the bottom of the new bow section was a battery of two 37 mm Breda cannons and three 12.7 mm Breda-SAFAT machine guns (two more were in the gunners' turrets). Easily removable panels were provided for servicing and reloading weapons. Also at the testing stage, a Breda-type turret was installed, which was laid down at the design stage.

The power plant from two engines allowed to get the same power as from three 1000-horsepower Piaggio P.XI RC40 engines, the new Piaggio P.XII RC.35 motors had a power of 1500 horsepower. each. To improve flight performance, it was planned to install a Piaggio P. XV with a capacity of 1,650 horsepower, but the production facilities of Piaggio could not cope with all orders and, as a result, they had to limit themselves to the existing power plant.

Structurally, the SM.89 attack aircraft was a two-engine four-seat low-wing aircraft of mixed design. The fuselage of rectangular cross-section is welded from steel pipes and up to the gunner's turret (nose) is covered with duralumin. The tail section of the fuselage is made of wood and covered with plywood and canvas. Three-spar wooden wing with plywood sheathing. Ailerons and flaps (Handley-Page type) with a metal frame and covered with canvas. The tail unit is double-keeled with a metal frame made of welded steel pipes and covered with linen plating.

The main landing gear is partially retractable by turning back from the nacelle (parts of the wheels remain unremoved). The tail wheel is swivel, non-retractable.

The pilot's cabin is armored, two-seater with the location of the pilots in tandem (the second pilot is also loading 37-mm cannons), two workplaces are installed in the fuselage: an arrow with a turret (immediately behind the cockpit) and a radio operator (middle of the fuselage).



SM.89 Specification
Crew 4
Dimensions
Wing span, m 21.04
Wing area, m² 61.00
Length, m 16.85
Height, m 4.50
Powerplant
2 × PE radial Piaggio P.XII RC.35, power, hp 2 × 1500
Weights and loads, kg:
Empty 8,800
Loaded weight 12,635
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 440
Cruising speed, km/h 378
Service range, km 1,600
Service ceiling, m 6,700
Armament
2 × 37 mm Breda cannon, 32 × 12.7 mm Breda-Safat machine gun, bombs, kg 1000

In April 1943, the prototype SM.89 was transferred to the 173rd Squadron for military trials. On this, traces of the SM.89 are lost and, despite the desire of the General Staff to use the SM.89 to combat the Allied landings in Salerno, this aircraft never took part in hostilities. Officially, it was not accepted for service and, most likely, after the signing of the armistice, it was dismantled.

Photo Description
Drawing SM.89

Drawing SM.89

Savoia Marchetti SM.89

Savoia Marchetti SM.89.

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • "Savoia Marchetti 89" con motori PIAGGIO P.XII RC.35/Ministero dell' Aeronautica, Roma 1939/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Savoia-Marchetti SM.75 SM.79 SM.81 SM.82 SM.84 SM.85 SM.86 SM.89 SM.91

SM.89
Ударный самолет
Savoia Marchetti

SM.89

Ударный самолет SM.89, созданный на базе трехмоторного бомбардировщика-торпедоносца SM.84 являлся его двухмоторной версией с самым мощным вооружением, которое только было на самолетах Итальянских Королевских ВВС. Переход к двухмоторной схеме позволил полностью перепроектировать носовую часть фюзеляжа, создав кабину со значительно улучшенным по сравнению с SM.84 обзором. В нижней части новой носовой секции была размещена батарея из двух 37-мм пушек Breda и трех 12,7-мм пулеметов Breda-SAFAT (еще два были в турелях стрелков). Для обслуживания и перезарядки оружия были предусмотрены легкоснимаемые панели. Также на этапе испытаний была установлена турельная башня типа Breda, заложенная еще на этапе проектирования.

Силовая установка от двух двигателей позволяла получить ту же можность, что и от трех 1000-сильных двигателей Piaggio P.XI RC40, новые моторы Piaggio P.XII RC.35 имели мощность 1500 л.с. каждый. Для улучшения летных характеристик планировалось установить Piaggio P. XV мощностью 1650 лошадиных сил, однако производственные мощности фирмы Piaggio не смогли справиться со всеми заказами и в итоге пришлось ограничиться уже имеющееся силовой установкой.

Конструктивно штурмовик SM.89 представлял собой двухмоторный четырехместный низкоплан смешанной конструкции. Фюзеляж прямоугольного сечения сварен из стальных труб и до турели стрелка (носовая часть) покрыт дюралюминием. Хвостовая часть фюзеляжа выполнена из дерева и покрыта фанерой и полотном. Крыло деревянное трехлонжеронное с фанерной обшивкой. Элероны и закрылки (типа Handley-Page) с металлическим каркасом и покрыты полотном. Хвостовое оперение двухкилевое с металлическим каркасом из сваренных стальных труб и покрыто полотняной обшивкой.

Основные стойки шасси частично убирающиеся поворотом назад с мотогондолы (неубранными остаются части колес). Хвостовое колесо поворотное, неубираемое.

Пилотская кабина бронированная, двухместная с расположением летчиков тандемом (второй пилот по совместительству - заряжающий 37-мм пушек), в фюзеляже установлены два рабочих места: стрелка с турелью (сразу за кабиной) и стрелка-радиста (середина фюзеляжа).

Характеристики SM.89
Экипаж 4
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 21,04
Площадь крыла, м² 61,00
Длина самолета, м 16,85
Высота самолета, м 4,50
Силовая установка
2 × ПД радиальных Piaggio P.XII RC.35, мощностью, л.с. 2 × 1500
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 8800
Нормальная взлетная 12635
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 440
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 378
Практическая дальность, км 1600
Практический потолок, м 6700
Вооружение
2×37-мм пушки Breda,
32×12,7-мм пулемета Breda-Safat, бомб, кг
1000

В апреле 1943 года опытный образец SM.89 был передан в 173-ю эскадрилью для войсковых испытаний. На этом следы SM.89 теряются и, несмотря на желание Генерального штаба использовать SM.89 для борьбы с высадкой союзников в Салерно, этот самолет никогда не принимал участия в боевых действиях. Официально он на вооружение не принимался и, по всей видимости, после подписания перемирия был разобран.

Фото Описание

Схема SM.89

Savoia Marchetti SM.89.

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Savoia Marchetti 89" con motori PIAGGIO P.XII RC.35/Ministero dell' Aeronautica, Roma 1939/
SAI Ambrosini Breda Caproni FIAT IMAM Macchi Piaggio Reggiane Savoia-Marchetti CANT

©AirPages
2003-