Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Z.508
Multipurpose Flying Boat
CANT

CANT Z.508

In accordance with the requirements for a long-range naval bomber and reconnaissance company, CANT began to create a three-engine version of the Z.501 flying boat. At the same time, the unchanged aluminum two-legged hull of the boat was equipped with two keels and three Isotta Frascini "Asso" XI RC.40 engines, with a capacity of 860 hp each. each, leaving the structure of the wooden wing virtually unchanged.

In 1935, a contract was signed for the production of three prototypes of the Z.508. The first prototype entered trials on October 17, 1936, almost at the same time as the Z.506 floatplane, which later became the main vehicle of this type in the fleet aviation. The flying boat left a pleasant impression, but they decided to abandon its serial production.

Subsequently, the first prototype Z.508 with registration number I-VECC decided to re-equip to set world records. In the period from April 13 to May 1, under the control of Mario Stoppani, the aircraft improved three world achievements - with his participation, world records were set for lifting 10,000 kg of cargo to a height of 2000 meters and a speed of 248.24 km / h when flying at a distance of over 2000 km at load 5000 kg.

Two other prototypes were ready in the winter of 1937-1938. and a few months later entered service in the 171st Sq. 91st Gr. based on seaplanes near La Spezia. The next year they were sent to Taranto, to the school of marine observers, where they subsequently ceased to exist. The last remaining aircraft was scrapped on October 5, 1940.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
CANT Z.508 Specification
Crew 5
Dimensions
Wingspan, m 30.00
Wing area, m² 62.00
Length, m 21.82
Height, m 4.43
Powerplant
3 × PE Isotta Fraschini Asso XI RC.40, power, h.p. 3 × 860
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 5,600
Gross weight 10,400
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 315
Cruising speed, km/h 248
Service range, km 3,000
Service ceiling, m 7,200
Armament
Two 7.7 mm and two 12.7 mm machine guns, bombs, kg, 1000
Photo Description
Drawing CANT Z.508

Drawing CANT Z.508

CANT Z.508 I-VECC

CANT Z.508 I-VECC

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • Heavy naval bomber CANT Z.508 / Andrey Krumkach /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты CANT Z.501 Z.506 Z.508 Z.511 Z.1007 Z.1018

Z.508
Многоцелевая летающая лодка
CANT

CANT Z.508

В соответствии с требованиями на дальний морской бомбардировщик и разведчик на фирме CANT приступили к созданию трехмоторного варианта летающей лодки Z.501. При этом не измененный алюминиевый двухреданный корпус лодки оснастили двумя килями и тремя двигателями Isotta Frascini "Asso"XI RC.40, мощностью по 860 л.с. каждый, оставив конструкцию деревянного крыла практически без изменений.

В 1935 году был подписан контракт на выпуск трех прототипов Z.508. Первый опытный образец поступил на испытания 17 октября 1936 г., почти в одно время с поплавковым гидросамолётом Z.506, который впоследствии стал основной машиной этого типа в авиации флота. Летающая лодка оставляла приятной впечатление, но от её серийного выпуска решили отказаться.

Впоследствии первый прототип Z.508 с регистрационным номером I-VECC решили переоборудовать для установления мировых рекордов. В период с 13 апреля по 1 мая под управлением Марио Стоппани самолет улучшил три мировых достижения - с его участием были установлены мировые рекорды по поднятию 10000 кг груза на высоту 2000 метров и скорость 248,24 км/ч при полете на дальность свыше 2000 км при нагрузке 5000 кг.

Два других прототипа были готовы зимой 1937-1938 гг. и через несколько месяцев поступили в эксплуатацию в состав 171-й Sq. 91-й Gr. на базе гидросамолётов под Специей. В следующем году их отправили в г. Таранто, в школу морских наблюдателей, где они впоследствии и прекратили своё существование. Последний оставшийся самолёт был отправлен на слом 5 октября 1940 г.

Характеристики CANT Z.508
Экипаж 5
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 30,00
Площадь крыла, м² 62,00
Длина самолета, м 21,82
Высота самолета, м 4,43
Силовая установка
3 × ПД Isotta Fraschini Asso XI RC.40, мощностью, л.с. 3 × 860
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 5600
Максимальная взлетная 10400
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 315
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 248
Практическая дальность, км 3000
Практический потолок, м 7200
Вооружение
Два 7,7-мм и два 12,7-мм пулемета, бомб, кг, 1000
Фото Описание

Схема CANT Z.508

CANT Z.508 I-VECC

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • Тяжелый морской бомбардировщик CANT Z.508 /Андрей Крумкач/
SAI Ambrosini Breda Caproni FIAT IMAM Macchi Piaggio Reggiane Savoia-Marchetti CANT

©AirPages
2003-