Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Z.511
Transport Seaplane
CANT

CANT Z.511

CANT Z.511. The largest seaplane in the world at the time of its creation, named Atlantico, was created as a transatlantic liner. During the construction of the seaplane, difficulties arose with the engines. Installed originally Italian 1330 hp Alfa-Romeo 135 engines. could not be produced in sufficient quantities and the order for them was postponed until 1943. The American Wright R-2600-A2B engines ordered instead turned out to be too expensive, and as a result, the Piaggio P.XII RC fourteen-cylinder piston engines were installed on the second prototype. 35, with a capacity of 1476 hp. Although the engines were more powerful than the originally selected ones, they had a short resource and high fuel consumption. Anyway, at that time they were the only suitable aircraft engines for an aircraft of such a large size with a take-off weight of over 34,000 kg.

The second prototype took off on September 8, 1940. This aircraft was transferred to the Italian Air Force and received the military number MM. 396. There were plans to use it as a bomber and torpedo bomber. There have been proposals to use the CANT Z.511 for long-distance flights and transporting small groups of saboteurs from the Italian Royal Navy to land them near important military and industrial facilities of the enemy. Other operational hypotheses related to attacks on fuel depots on the Persian Gulf or on Soviet targets on the Black Sea.

This aircraft was destroyed during the Allied raid on the Vigna di Valle base. The magnificent creation of the engineer Filippo Zappata was not possible to fully demonstrate his qualities: however, it served to accumulate experience for the post-war design and construction of the beautiful four-engine ground aircraft Breda-Zappata BZ.308.



CANT Z.511 Specification
Crew 6
Dimensions
Wingspan, m 40.00
Wing area, m² 195.00
Length, m 29.90
Height, m 10.77
Powerplant
4 × PE Piaggio P.XII RC.35, power, h.p. 4 × 1476
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 20,692
Gross weight 34,200
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 424
Cruising speed, km/h 360
Service range, km 5,100
Service ceiling, m 7,550
Payload
16 passengers and 2000 kg of cargo or max. 48 passengers

Technical description. Float-type seaplane for transport and passenger transatlantic flights, was a four-engine low-wing aircraft of all-metal construction.

The wing is one-spar, trapezoidal, consisting of 5 parts (center section with engines, cantilevers and wingtips) and a working duralumin wing skin. Ailerons and flaps are all-metal. Passages in the leading edge of the wing were intended to control the operation of engines and fuel tanks. The tail unit had a duralumin structure and plating, with the exception of the elevator and rudder, covered with canvas. The floats were of a metal structure and covered with duralumin sheathing and connected to the fuselage using an orderly structure of steel pipes: inside there was a stepladder for communication between the float and the wing tunnel. Elliptical fuselage with duralumin construction.

Engines with metal three-bladed propellers of variable pitch - Piaggio P.1002 and constant speed with electrical control and display systems. The fuel was placed in the wing tanks (additionally in the fuselage - 1335 liters), the maximum tank capacity - 16340 liters (11930 kg).

A cockpit with side-by-side dual controls, a dashboard with instruments for flight and navigation equipment and engine control. The aircraft was fitted with the Salmoiraghi autopilot; behind the pilots' seats were the work stations of the flight mechanic and radio operator with communication radio equipment.

The passenger compartment was not installed on the prototype, but was calculated for 16 passenger seats with folding berths equipped with individual lighting, ventilation and heating in 4 compartments (transatlantic configuration) or for 48 seats, equipped in 4 compartments of 12 places in each. In front of the passenger compartment there was a toilet and a kitchen, behind - a toilet and a lobby. The lower cargo compartment was located along the entire length of the passenger compartment and was accessible in flight: for this it was possible to pass through the passages in the leading edge of the wing.

Photo Description
Drawing CANT Z.511

Drawing CANT Z.511

Bibliography

  • Transatlantic liner CANT Z.511 / Ivan Byakin /
  • Transport seaplane CANT Z.511 / Andrey Krumkach /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты CANT Z.501 Z.506 Z.508 Z.511 Z.1007 Z.1018

Z.511
Транспортный гидросамолет
CANT

CANT Z.511

CANT Z.511. Самый большой гидросамолет в мире на момент создания, получивший имя Atlantico, создавался как трансатлантический лайнер. При строительстве гидросамолета возникли трудности с двигателями. Установленные первоначально итальянские двигатели Alfa-Romeo 135 мощностью 1330 л.с. не могли производиться в достаточном количестве и заказ на них был отложен до 1943 года. Заказанные вместо него американские двигатели Wright R-2600-A2B оказались слишком дороги, в результате на второй прототип был установлены четырнадцатицилиндровые поршневые двигатели Piaggio P.XII RC. 35, мощностью 1476 л.с.. Хотя двигатели и были мощнее первоначально выбранных, но имели небольшой ресурс и большой расход топлива. Как бы то не было, на то время это были единственные подходящие авиационные двигатели для самолета такого большого размера со взлетным весом более 34000 кг

Второй прототип взлетел 8 сентября 1940 года. Этот самолет был передан в ВВС Италии и получил войсковой номер MM. 396. Имелись планы использования его в качестве бомбардировщика и торпедоносца. Высказывались предложения использовать CANT Z.511 для полетов на большие расстояния и перевозки небольших групп диверсантов из Итальянского Королевского флота для высадки их вблизи важных военных и промышленных объектов противника. Другие гипотезы об оперативном применении касались нападения на топливные склады на берегу Персидского залива или на советские цели на Черном море.

Данный экземпляр самолета был уничтожен при налете союзников на базу Vigna di Valle. Великолепному созданию инженера Филиппо Цаппата не представилось возможным в полной мере показать свои качества: однако он послужил накоплению опыта для послевоенного проектирования и строительство красивого четырехдвигательного наземного самолета Breda-Zappata BZ.308.

Характеристики CANT Z.511
Экипаж 6
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 40,00
Площадь крыла, м² 195,00
Длина самолета, м 29,90
Высота самолета, м 10,77
Силовая установка
4 × ПД Piaggio P.XII RC.35, мощностью, л.с. 4 × 1476
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 20692
Максимальная взлетная 34200
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 424
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 360
Практическая дальность, км 5100
Практический потолок, м 7550
Полезная нагрузка
16 пассажиров и 2000 кг груза или макс. 48 пассажиров

Техническое описание. Поплавковый гидросамолет для транспортно-пассажирских трансатлантических перелетов, представлял собой четырехдвигательный низкоплан цельнометаллической конструкции.

Крыло однолонжеронное, трапециевидное, состоящее из 5 частей (центроплан с двигателями, консоли и законцовки крыла) и работающей обшивкой крыла из дюралюминия. Элероны и закрылки - цельнометаллические. Проходы в передней кромке крыла предназначались для контроля работы двигателей и топливных баков. Хвостовое оперение имело дюралевую конструкцию и обшивку, за исключением руля высоты и направления, покрытых полотном. Поплавки имели металлическую конструкцию и покрыты дюралюминиевой обшивкой и связывались с фюзеляжем с помощью упорядоченной конструкции из стальных труб: внутри находилась стремянка для связи между поплавком и крыльевым туннелем. Фюзеляж эллиптической формы с дюралюминиевой конструкцией.

Двигатели с металлическими трехлопастными воздушными винтами изменяемого шага - Piaggio P.1002 и постоянных оборотов с электрическими системами управления и индикации. Топливо размещалось в крыльевых баках (дополнительно в фюзеляже - 1335 л), максимальная емкость баков - 16340 л (11930 кг).

Кабина с расположенным бок о бок двойным управлением, приборной панелью с приборами пилотажно-навигационного оборудования и контроля работы двигателей. На самолете устанавливался автопилот Salmoiraghi; за местами пилотов располагались рабочие места бортмеханика и радиста со связным радиооборудованием.

Пассажирский салон, не был установлен на прототипе, но рассчитывался на 16 пассажирских мест с откидными спальными местами, снабженными индивидуальными освещением, вентиляцией и отоплением в 4-х отделениях (трансатлантическая конфигурация) или на 48 мест, оборудованных в 4 отделениях по 12 мест в каждом. Перед пассажирским салоном располагались туалет и кухня, позади - туалет и вестибюль. Нижнее грузовое отделение размещалось по всей длине пассажирского отсека и было доступно в полете: для этого можно было пройти через проходы в передней кромке крыла.

Фото Описание

Схема CANT Z.511

Источники

  • Трансатлантический лайнер CANT Z.511/Иван Бякин/
  • Транспортный гидросамолёт CANT Z.511 /Андрей Крумкач/
SAI Ambrosini Breda Caproni FIAT IMAM Macchi Piaggio Reggiane Savoia-Marchetti CANT

©AirPages
2003-