Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Battle P.24 Monarch

Experimental Aircraft

Fairey

Fairey-P.24-Monarch-Battle

In October 1938, an experimental P / 24 Monarch propulsion system with counter-rotating coaxial propellers was installed at Fairey-Battle.

In the early 30s, three units were built in two modifications: Fairey V-12 Prince I and Super Prince II. The third "Prince" was of a completely different design, but used the same cylinders. The Fairey H.16 Prince III was actually two twin eight-cylinder boxer engines, each working on its own shaft and on its own propeller - the shafts were coaxial, and the propellers, respectively, were coaxial, of opposite rotation. The cylinders were located vertically, cooling - liquid, gas distribution - poppet valves, two-speed single-stage supercharger. Each half had its own fuel system, oil supply system, etc. So the Fairey motors weren't actually H-shaped.

The Fairey P.24 Monarch was a vertical H engine in which the left and right sides of a 12-cylinder engine could operate independently of each other. The aluminum crankcase consisted of an upper and lower half. Each block of six cylinders was attached to the crankcase. An aluminum cylinder head is attached to the cylinder block. P.24 retained the bore and stroke of the P.12 (and P.16). Each cylinder had two intake valves and one exhaust valve, all driven by a single overhead camshaft driven from the rear of the engine. The 1.8125 "(46 mm) intake valves were actuated by a T-type tappet, while the 2.25" (57 mm) exhaust valves were actuated directly from the camshaft.

Fairey P.24 Integral Passageways

Drawing, from British Patent 463,501. The configuration shown is almost identical to that used on the actual engine. The section on the right shows the numerous sharp turns of the fuel / air mixture on the way to the cylinders.

The development of the engine family began in 1935 under the leadership of the chief designer of the engine building department of A.G. Forsyt, although the first estimates began in the early 30s. The first copy of the "Monarch" in October 1938 was installed at the Fairey Battle (K9370). Due to its design, the power plant had the reliability of a twin-engine aircraft, the failure of one half did not lead to the termination of the operation of the other.

In the period 39-41. The Monarch passed a number of tests, a resource of 50 hours was obtained in 1939, in the 41st the engine worked 15 hours at a maximum power of about 2200 hp. and flew 87 hours in the Battle. Apparently in 1941, it was decided that the UK would not produce Fairey engines, and in December 1941 the plane with another additional "Monarch" was transferred to the United States, flew there another 253 hours on tests and was transferred to the British back through 18 months. The reviews were rather negative about the motor: some design features were considered controversial, others did not meet American standards, and still others hindered the further development of the motor. A surprising feature is indicated by reports from the United States - the lack of counterweights on the crankshaft. The engine worked, but according to the Americans, it took 2-3 years before its final development, the desire to spend time on this and the lack of production capacity put an end to the idea of ​​producing the engine in the United States. But it was supposed to put it on the P-47, Fairey Barracuda, Fairey Firefly, Blackburn B.20 ...

Fairey P.24 Monarch (Prince 4) repeated Prince III, but there were 24 cylinders of 12 in each group. The "Monarch" supercharger was a two-stage four-speed - most likely, we are talking about two separate superchargers (one stage / two speeds), each working on its own block. "Prince" was designed for a power of about 1500 hp, "Monarch" - about 2200 hp (with the prospect of up to 3000 hp).

Fairey-P.24-Monarch-Battle

P.24 flew a lot in the USA, but the Americans were mainly interested in counter-rotating coaxial propellers. Battle retained its serial number on the fuselage, but the British markings were painted over and replaced with American markings. Notice the star under the wing and the stripes on the rudder.

Fairey-P.24-Monarch in US

On trials in the USA, the Fairey P-24 Monarch showed the following characteristics:

Takeoff power 2140 hp. from. at 3000 rpm.

Power: 2030 hp at 2600 rpm at an altitude of 1524 m, 1780 hp from. at 2600 rpm at an altitude of 3657 m.

Maximum power: 2100 hp from. at 3000 rpm at an altitude of 1828 m, 1850 hp from. at 3000 rpm at an altitude of 3962 m. All tests were carried out on 87 octane fuel.

In 1943, the history of the engine ended.

Bibliography

  • Fairey Aircraft since 1915 /by H. A. Taylor (1988)/
  • British Piston Aero-Engines and their Aircraft /by Alec Lumsden (2003)/
  • World Encyclopedia of Aero Engines /by Bill Gunston (2006)/
  • Fairey Firefly /by W. Harrison (1992)/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Fairey Battle Battle P.24 Monarch Fulmar Firefly Swordfish Albacore Barracuda Фото и схемы Боевое применение Firefly

Battle P.24 Monarch

Экспериментальный самолет

Fairey

Fairey-P.24-Monarch-Battle

В октябре 1938 г. на Fairey-Battle была установлена экспериментальная силовая установка P/24 Monarch с соосными винтами противоположного вращения.

В начале 30х было сооружено три агрегата в двух модификациях: Fairey V-12 Prince I и Super Prince II. Третий "Принц" был совершенно иной конструкции, однако использовал те же цилиндры. Fairey H.16 Prince III представлял собой фактически два спаренных восьмицилиндровых оппозитных двигателя, работающих каждый на свой вал и на свой воздушный винт - валы были коаксиальными, а винты, соответственно, соосными, противоположного вращения. Цилиндры располагались вертикально, охлаждение - жидкостное, газораспределение - тарельчатые клапаны, двухскоростной одноступенчатый нагнетатель. Для каждой половины была своя топливная система, система снабжения маслом и т.д. Так что моторы Fairey H-образными фактически не были.

Fairey P.24 Monarch был вертикальным двигателем H, в котором левая и правая части 12-цилиндрового двигателя могли работать независимо друг от друга. Картер из алюминия состоял из верхней и нижней половины. Каждый блок из шести цилиндров был прикреплен к картеру. К блоку цилиндров прикреплена алюминиевая головка цилиндров. P.24 сохранил диаметр цилиндра и ход двигателя P.12 (и P.16). Каждый цилиндр имел два впускных клапана и один выпускной клапан, все они приводились в действие одним верхним распределительным валом, приводимым в действие с задней стороны двигателя. Впускные клапаны диаметром 1,8125 дюйма (46 мм) приводились в действие толкателем Т-типа, а выпускной клапан диаметром 2,25 дюйма (57 мм) приводился в действие непосредственно от распределительного вала.

Fairey P.24 Integral Passageways

Чертёж, из британского патента 463 501. Приведенная конфигурация почти идентична той, что применялась на реальном двигателе. На разрезе справа показаны многочисленные резкие повороты топливно-воздушной смеси на пути к цилиндрам.

Разработка семейства моторов началась в 1935 году под руководством главного конструктора моторостроительного отделения фирмы A.G. Forsyt, хотя первые прикидки начались еще в начале 30х. Первый экземпляр "Монарха" в октябре 1938 был установлен на Fairey Battle (K9370). Благодаря своей конструкции силовая установка имела надежность двухмоторного самолета, отказ одной половины не приводил к прекращению работы второй.

В период 39-41 г.г. Monarch прошел ряд испытаний, ресурс в 50 часов был получен в 1939 г., в 41-ом мотор проработал 15 часов на максимальной мощности около 2200 л.с. и налетал 87 часов на "Бэттле". По-видимому в 1941 году было принято решение о том, что в Великобритании выпускать двигатели Fairey не будут, и декабре 1941 самолет с еще одним дополнительным "Монархом" был передан в США, налетал там еще 253 часа на испытаниях и был передан англичанам обратно через 18 месяцев. Отзывы были о моторе скорее отрицательными: некоторые конструктивные особенности были сочтены спорными, другие - не соответствующими американским стандартам, третьи препятствовали дальнейшему развитию мотора. На удивительную особенность указывают отчеты из США - отсутствие противовесов на коленчатом вале. Двигатель работал, но до его окончательной доводки требовалось по мнению американцев 2-3 года, желания тратить время на это и нехватка производственных мощностей поставила крест на идее выпуска мотора в США. А ведь предполагалось ставить его на P-47, Fairey Barracuda, Fairey Firefly, Blackburn B.20...

Fairey P.24 Monarch (Prince 4) повторял Prince III, однако цилиндров было 24 по 12 в каждой группе. Нагнетатель "Монарха" был двухступенчатый четырехскоростной - речь, скорее всего, идет о двух отдельных нагнетателях (одна ступень/две скорости), работающих каждый на свой блок. "Принц" рассчитывался на мощность около 1500 л.с, "Монарх" - около 2200 л.с (с перспективой до 3000л.с.).

Fairey-P.24-Monarch-Battle

P.24 много летал в США, но американцы, в основном, интересовались соосными винтами противоположного вращения. Battle на фюзеляже сохранил свой серийный номер, но британские опознавательные знаки были закрашены, а вместо них нанесена американская маркировка. Обратите внимание на звезду под крылом и полосы на руле направления.

Fairey-P.24-Monarch in US

На испытаниях в США Fairey P-24 Monarch показал следующие характеристики:

Взлетная мощность 2140 л. с. на 3000 об/мин.

Мощность: 2030 л.с. при 2600 об/мин на высоте 1524 м, 1780 л. с. при 2600 об/мин на высоте 3657 м.

Максимальная мощность: 2100 л. с. при 3000 об/мин на высоте 1828 м, 1850 л. с. при 3000 об/мин на высоте 3962 м. Все испытания проводились на 87 октановом топливе.

В 1943 году история двигателя закончилась.

Источники

  • Fairey Aircraft since 1915 /by H. A. Taylor (1988)/
  • British Piston Aero-Engines and their Aircraft /by Alec Lumsden (2003)/
  • World Encyclopedia of Aero Engines /by Bill Gunston (2006)/
  • Fairey Firefly /by W. Harrison (1992)/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-