Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

Mosquito PR

High-speed Reconnaissance Aircraft

De Havilland

Mosquito PR XVI

Mosquito PR (Photographic Reconnaissance) As early as January 11, 1941, the Ministry of Aviation demanded that the De Havilland firm build an experimental and 19 production vehicles in the "photo reconnaissance" version.

The W4051 aircraft was finished on May 24, 1941, and on the same day the W4054 serial reconnaissance aircraft was submitted for final painting. June 10 W4051 first took to the air. In addition to the presence of cameras, the scouts differed from the W4050 in the wing extended by 508 mm, as well as changes in the hydraulic system. In addition, all external surfaces of these machines were painted in a sky blue, the so-called "PRU blue". The first twenty scouts, which received the official designation "Mosquito" PR.I, had short ones that did not protrude beyond the trailing edge of the nacelle wing.

The need for high-speed reconnaissance personnel for this has become so acute that the commander of 1 PRU (Photographic Reconnaissance Unit) Wing Commander J. Tuttle personally visited the De Havilland test airfield and on June 12 tested the W4051 in the air.

During the summer of 1941, it was possible to carry out the entire range of tests of the reconnaissance aircraft, including debugging of the photographic installation. As a rule, the latter included two or three planners (F.24, F.52 or K-17) and one promising type F.24. The composition of the photo setup varied depending on the nature of the task. The most widespread was the variant with one K-17 camera (152 mm focal length) in the bomb bay, one F.52 twin camera (504 or 915 mm focal length) behind the trailing edge of the wing and the "356 mm" perspective F.24 apparatus. oriented to the left down. At first, the foundations for installing cameras were made of steel, but later they switched to wooden ones, since it turned out that they attenuate vibrations from running motors.



Mosquito PR Mk.XVI
Crew 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 16.51
Wing area, m² 42.18
Length, m 12.35
Height, m 4.65
Powerplant
2 × PE Rolls-Royce Merlin 72, power h.p. 2 × 1,680
Weight, kg:
Empty, kgг 6580
Loaded weight, kg 9,950
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 656
Cruising speed, km/h 512
Service ceilling, m 11,800

The acute shortage of aircraft in 1 PRU required the conversion of part of the B.IV series II bombers into reconnaissance aircraft. The first such "conversion" aircraft (serial number DK284) took off in April 1942. The conversion of another 26 machines to the PR.IV version was carried out in December 1942 - March 1943. Subsequently, the aircraft were transferred mainly to the 540th squadron. A little earlier, in October 1942, the first of the five "Mosquito" PR.VIII (serial number DK324) took off, also converted from B.IV, but equipped with high-altitude engines "Merlin" 61 with two-stage superchargers. Due to the lack of knowledge of these engines and the decision to install them primarily on Spitfires, the series of "eights" turned out to be very short. The Royal Air Force received only one such aircraft monthly, the last of which was commissioned in March 1943.

The next PR.IX scout was created on the basis of the B.IX bomber equipped with Merlin 72 (73) or 76 (77) engines. If in the bomber modification the volume of the fuel tanks, including the outboard ones, was 3180 liters, then the scout managed to increase it to 4380 liters. In the latter case, two 454-liter gas tanks were suspended under the wing of the aircraft, the take-off weight of which reached 11,420 kg. This variant became the heavyweight champion of the Mosquito, but the vehicle's range was increased to almost 4,000 km at a cruising speed of 400 km / h. De Havilland immediately received an order for 375 scouts. In April 1943 the Hatfnld plant produced the first four, the next month six, and in August and October the RAF received 25 of this type each. Already in May, the vehicles entered service with the 540th squadron. By November 1943, 90 PR.IX high-altitude reconnaissance aircraft were transferred to the combat units, after which their production was stopped.

At the same time, serial production of the most massive version of the "Mosquito" - a scout began. It was PR.XVI, created on the basis of the B.XVI bomber. The power plant remained unchanged, as on the B.IX, but the cockpit was made pressurized, which should have significantly improved the working conditions of the crew at high altitudes.

In the fall of 1944, the company built five PR.32 reconnaissance aircraft, which differed from the "sixteenths" in their wingspan increased to 18 m. The power plant included two newest Merlin 113 (114) motors. The aircraft had to be lightened as much as possible for flights at altitudes of over 12,000 m. The empty reconnaissance plane had a weight of 6480 kg, the normal flight weight was 9320 kg, and the reloading one with two outboard 454-liter tanks was 10,040 kg. It was believed that a lightweight aircraft with powerful high-altitude engines would not be able to "reach" the jet and rocket fighters of the Germans. However, hopes were not justified: in the winter of 1944-1945. individual German interceptors patrolled over Berlin at an altitude of 12,600 m.

The last serial modification of the "Mosquito" - reconnaissance aircraft was PR.34 with engines "Merlin" 114 (some of the aircraft with "Merlin" 114A were named by analogy with PR.34A). This option was intended for ultra-long-range flights. A huge gas tank in the protruding underwing compartment of the fuselage made it look like bombers, adapted to carry 1,816 kg bombs. There was the possibility of hanging under the wing of the aircraft two drop tanks with a capacity of 227, 454 or 908 liters. The total volume of all tanks reached 5770 liters. Filled with gasoline under the plug, the car weighed 11580 kg. In order to somehow increase the working ceiling of the PR.34, it was necessary to abandon armor and tank protection. But the maximum flight range of such scouts at an altitude of 7500 m reached 5750 km. According to this indicator, "Mosquito" is practically on par with the pre-war "transatlantic". The photographic equipment consisted of four F.52 planners and one promising F.24 (or K-17). Until the end of the war with Germany, it was possible to build no more than 50 aircraft of this type, and the total production volume was 181 aircraft. A small number of "thirty-fours" managed to take part in operations against Japan.

Photo Description
Drawing Mosquito PR Mk.I

Drawing Mosquito PR Mk.I

Drawing Mosquito PR Mk.34

Drawing Mosquito PR Mk.34

Mosquito PR Mk.34

Mosquito PR Mk.34

Bibliography

  • De Havilland Mosquito / Arsenal-Press. A.N. Bear. /
  • British military aircraft of the Second World War / ed. Daniel March /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты De Havilland Tiger Moth D.H.82 Albatross D.H.91 Mosquito D.H.98 B Mosquito D.H.98 FB Mosquito D.H.98 NF Mosquito D.H.98 PR Vampire D.H.100 Hornet D.H.103 Фото и схемы В СССР В.IV № DK296 В НИИ ВВС Pilot`s Notes Mosquito FB VI

Mosquito PR

Скоростной фоторазведчик

De Havilland

Mosquito PR XVI

Mosquito PR (Photographic Reconnaissance) Еще 11 января 1941 г. Министерство авиации потребовало от фирмы "Де Хевилленд" построить опытный и 19 серийных машин в варианте "фоторазведчика".

Самолет W4051 закончили 24 мая 1941 г. и в этот же день подали на окончательную окраску серийный разведчик W4054. 10 июня W4051 впервые поднялся в воздух. Помимо наличия фотоаппаратов разведчики отличались от W4050 удлиненным на 508 мм крылом, а также изменениями в гидросистеме. Кроме того, все наружные поверхности этих машин окрашивались в небесно-голубой цвет, так называемый "PRU blue". Первые двадцать разведчиков, получивших официальное обозначение "Москито" PR.I, имели короткие, не выступавшие за заднюю кромку крыла мотогондолы.

Потребность в скоростных разведчиках к этому стала настолько острой, что командир 1 PRU (Photographic Reconnaissance Unit - отряд фоторазведчиков) Wing Commander Дж.Туттл лично посетил испытательный аэродром "Де Хевилленд" и 12 июня опробовал в воздухе W4051.

За лето 1941 г. удалось выполнить весь комплекс испытаний разведчика, включая и отладку фотоустановки. Как правило, последняя включала два-три плановых аппарата (F.24, F.52 или К-17) и один перспективный типа F.24. Состав фотоустановки варьировался в зависимости от характера задания. Наиболее широко распространенным был вариант с одной фотокамерой К-17 (фокусное расстояние 152 мм) в бомбоотсеке, одной сдвоенной камерой F.52 (фокусное расстояние 504 или 915 мм) позади задней кромки крыла и "356-миллиметровым" перспективным аппаратом F.24, ориентированным влево вниз. Первое время фундаменты для установки фотоаппаратов изготовляли из стали, но позднее перешли на деревянные, поскольку оказалось, что они ослабляют вибрации от работающих моторов.

Характеристики Mosquito PR Mk.XVI
Экипаж 2
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 16,51
Площадь крыла, м² 42,18
Длина самолета, м 12,35
Высота самолета, м 4,65
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Rolls-Royce Merlin 72, мощностью л.с. 2 × 1680
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета, кг 6580
Нормальная взлетная, кг 9950
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 656
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 512
Практический потолок, м 11800

Острая нехватка самолетов в 1 PRU потребовала переоборудования и части бомбардировщиков B.IV серии II в разведчики. Первая такая "конверсионная" машина (заводской номер DK284) поднялась в воздух в апреле 1942 г. Переделка еще 26 машин в вариант PR.IV выполнялась в декабре 1942 г. - марте 1943 г. Впоследствии самолеты передавались главным образом в 540-ю эскадрилью. Немного раньше, в октябре 1942 г., взлетел первый из пятерки "Москито" PR.VIII (заводской номер DK324), также переоборудованный из В.IV, но оснащенный высотными моторами "Мерлин" 61 с двухступенчатыми нагнетателями. В связи с недоведенностью этих моторов и решением устанавливать их в первую очередь на "Спитфайрах", серия "восьмерок" оказалась очень короткой. Ежемесячно Королевские ВВС получали всего по одному такому самолету, последний из которых был сдан в марте 1943 г.

Следующий разведчик PR.IX создали на базе бомбардировщика B.IX, оснащенного моторами "Мерлин" 72 (73) либо 76 (77). Если у бомбардировочной модификации объем топливных баков, включая подвесные, составлял 3180 л, то у разведчика его удалось увеличить до 4380 л. В последнем случае под крылом самолета, взлетная масса которого достигла 11420 кг, подвешивались два 454-литровых бензобака. Этот вариант стал чемпионом-тяжеловесом среди "Москито", но и дальность полета машины была доведена почти до 4000 км при крейсерской скорости 400 км/ч Фирма " Де Хевилленд" немедленно получила заказ на 375 разведчиков. В апреле 1943 г. завод в Хатфнлде выпустил первые четыре, в следующем месяце - шесть, а в августе и октябре Королевские ВВС получили по 25 самолетов этого типа. Уже в мае машины поступили на вооружение 540-й эскадрильи. К ноябрю 1943 г. в строевые части передали 90 высотных разведчиков PR.IX, после чего их выпуск прекратили.

Тогда же началось серийное производство наиболее массового варианта "Москито" - разведчика. Им стал PR.XVI, созданный на основе бомбардировщика В.XVI. Силовая установка осталась без изменений, как на B.IX, зато кабину выполнили герметичной, что должно было значительно улучшить условия работы экипажа на больших высотах.

Осенью 1944 г. фирма построила пять разведчиков PR.32, отличавшихся от "шестнадцатых" увеличенным до 18 м размахом крыла. Силовая установка включала два новейших мотора "Мерлин" 113 (114). Самолет пришлось максимально облегчить для полетов на высотах более 12000 м. Масса пустого разведчика составляла 6480 кг, нормальная полетная - 9320 кг, а перегрузочная с двумя подвесными 454-литровыми баками - 10040 кг. Считалось, что облегченный самолет с мощными высотными моторами не смогут "достать" реактивные и ракетные истребители немцев. Однако надежды не оправдались: зимой 1944-1945 гг. отдельные германские перехватчики патрулировали над Берлином на высоте 12600 м.

Последней серийной модификацией "Москито" - разведчика стал PR.34 с моторами "Мерлин" 114 (часть самолетов с "Мерлинами" 114А называли по аналогии PR.34A). Этот вариант предназначался для сверхдальних полетов. Огромный бензобак в выступающем подкрыльевом отсеке фюзеляжа делал его похожим на бомбардировщики, приспособленные для подвески 1816-кг бомб. Имелась возможность подвески под крылом самолета двух сбрасываемых баков емкостью 227, 454 либо 908 л. Общий объем всех баков достиг 5770 л. Заполненная "под заглушку" бензином машина весила 11580 кг. Чтобы хоть как-то увеличить рабочий потолок PR.34, пришлось отказаться от брони и протектирования баков. Зато максимальная дальность полета таких разведчиков на высоте 7500 м достигла 5750 км. По этому показателю "Москито" практически сравнялся с довоенными "трансатлантиками". В состав фотооборудования входили четыре плановых аппарата F.52 и один перспективный F.24 (либо К-17). До окончания войны с Германией удалось построить не более 50 машин этого типа, а общий объем выпуска составил 181 самолет. Небольшое количество "тридцатьчетверок" успело принять участие в операциях против Японии.

Фото Описание

Схема Mosquito PR Mk.I

Схема Mosquito PR Mk.34

Mosquito PR Mk.34

Источники

  • "Де Хевилленд Москито" /Арсенал-Пресс. А.Н. Медведь./
  • "Английские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Даниэля Марча/
Armstrong Whitworth A V Ro Blackburn Boulton Paul Bristol Fairey Gloster De Havilland Handley Page Hawker Saunders-Roe Short Supermarine Taylorcraft Vickers Westland Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-