Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

A-27


A-27
  • Attack Aircraft
  • North American

Created on the basis of the VS-1A training aircraft, its assault version with a new Wright R-1820-F52 engine (775 hp) and armament from two fuselage 7.7-mm Browning machine guns and four 100-lb (454-kg) bombs on holders under the wing, received the designation NA-44 and made its first flight in 1938. In 1940, this aircraft was sold to Canada, and its modifications were launched into mass production.

In October 1940, we signed a contract with representatives of the Brazilian Air Force. A total of 13 NA-72 attack aircraft were delivered, which remained in service until the mid-1950s.

Thailand ordered not only a batch of NA-69 attack aircraft, but also NA-50 fighters, created on the basis of the same VS-1. Negotiations for the delivery of ten NA-69s began in November 1939, and in September of the following year, all ordered aircraft were loaded onto a ship and sent to the shores of Southeast Asia. While they were on the way, the American government managed to impose a ban on the supply of military equipment to potential allies of Japan. As a result, the NA-69s were redirected to the Philippines, where they were given a new designation A-27 and serial numbers from 41-18890 to 41-18899. For about a year they were used as part of the 17th Fighter Squadron at Nicholas Field to train flight personnel, where they died under Japanese bombs on December 7, 1941.

At least two attack aircraft from this party managed to transfer to the Air Force of the Dutch East Indies. Nothing is known about their use, but apparently the A-27s also served as training aircraft.


                                                                                                                                                                                                              
A-27 Specification
Crew 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 12.80
Wing area, m² 25.70
Legth, m 8.84
Height, m 3.71
Powerplant
1 × PE Wright R-1820-75 Cyclone 785
Weight, kg:
Empty 2,050
Gross weight 3,040
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 402
Cruising speed, km/h 354
Service ceiling, m 8,500
Maximum range, km 1,290
Armament
Armament
2 fuselage and rear 7.62 mm movable machine gun, bombs, kg 181
Photo Description

Drawing A-27

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/

Авиация Второй мировой
   Поиск на сайте      English
Самолёты North American AT 6 A-27 A-36 P 51A/B P 51D P 82 B 25A/B B 25C/D B 25G/H B 25J B 28 Фото и схемы Боевое применение P 51 B 25 В СССР B 25 AT-6C

A-27


A-27
  • Ударный самолет
  • North American

Созданный на основе тренировочного самолёта ВС-1А, его штурмовой вариант с новым двигателем Wright R-1820-F52 (775 л.с.) и вооружением из двух фюзеляжных 7,7-мм пулеметов Browning и четырьмя 100-фунтовыми (454-кг) бомбами на держателях под крылом, получил обозначение NA-44 и совершил свой первый полёт в 1938 г. В 1940 году этот самолёт продали в Канаду, а в серийное производство были запущены его модификации.

В октябре 1940 года оформили контракт с представителями ВВС Бразилии. Всего было поставлено 13 штурмовиков NA-72, которые оставались на вооружении вплоть до середины 1950-х гг.

Таиланд заказал не только партию штурмовиков NA-69, но и истребители NA-50, созданные на базе все того же ВС-1. Переговоры о поставке десяти NA-69 начались в ноябре 1939 г. и в сентябре следующего года все заказанные самолёты были погружены на корабль и отправлены к берегам Юго-Восточной Азии. Пока они находились в пути американское правительство успело наложить запрет на поставки боевой техники потенциальным союзникам Японии. В итоге NA-69 были перенаправлены на Филиппины, где им присвоили новое обозначение А-27 и серийные номера от 41-18890 до 41-18899. Около года их использовали в составе 17-й истребительной эскадрильи на аэродроме Николас-Филд для обучения лётного состава, где они и погибли под японскими бомбами 7 декабря 1941 г.

По крайней мере, два штурмовика из этой партии успели передать в ВВС Голландской Ост-Индии. Об их применении ничего не известно, но по всей видимости А-27 также выполняли роль тренировочных самолётов.

Характеристики A-27
Экипаж 2
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 12,80
Площадь крыла, м² 25,70
Длина самолета, м 8,84
Высота самолета, м 3,71
Силовая установка
1 × ПД Wright R-1820-75 Cyclone 785
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 2050
Максимальная взлетная 3040
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 402
Крейсерская скорость, км/ч 354
Практический потолок, м 8500
Практическая дальность, км 1290
Вооружение
2 фюзеляжных и сзади 7,62-мм подвижный пулемет, бомб, кг 181
Фото Описание

Схема A-27

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-