Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

B-28 Dragon

High Altitude Bomber

North American

B-28 Dragon

B-28 Dragon. Development of the high-altitude bomber began in 1939 based on the basic design of the B-25 Mitchell. The new aircraft, designated NA-63, was powered by two 2000 hp Pratt & Whitney R-2800 radial engines. with a single-fin vertical tail, a circular fuselage and a pressurized cockpit for five crew members. Its bomb bay could hold 1,814 kg of bombs, dorsal, ventral and tail turrets with coaxial 12.7 mm machine guns were remotely controlled from the cockpit, there were also three similar machine guns for course fire.

On November 15, 1939, USAAC ordered the construction of the first of two aircraft prototypes, which received the military designation XB-28 and the unofficial nickname Dragon. This aircraft (serial number 40-3056) was flown around on 24 April 1942. On tests, the aircraft showed high flight characteristics: at an altitude of 7620 m, it reached a speed of 599 km / h and could carry bomb loads over a distance of 3283 km.

Specification B-28
Crew 5
Dimensions
Wing span, m 22.12
Length, m 17.20
Height, m 4.83
Powerplant
2 × PE Pratt & Whitney R-2800-27 Double Wasp, hp 2 × 2,000
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 11,600
Loaded weight 16,875
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 599
Service ceiling, m 10,500
Service range, km 3,280
Armament
6 × 12.7mm machine guns, bomb load, kg 1,814

The second prototype of the NA-67 aircraft (XB-28A, serial number 40-3058) was ordered on December 14, 1940, while USAAC ordered to convert the aircraft into a high-altitude reconnaissance aircraft. For these purposes, four K-17 aerial cameras were mounted on the lower part of the fuselage. On the plane with the same power plant, new machine-gun turrets from General Electric were installed. The first flight of the XB-28A took place on April 24, 1943, but already on August 4, 1943, the plane crashed and fell into the ocean.

Tests of the XB-28 showed that the aircraft was superior in all characteristics to the serial B-25 Mitchell bombers, but by that time the demand for high-altitude bombers was very low - the main bomb strikes were delivered from medium and low altitudes. By the end of the war, the US Air Force began to focus on heavy four-engine strategic bombers, in connection with which work on the creation of a serial version of the B-28 (North American NA-69) aircraft was canceled. The results of tests and developments in pressurized cabins were later used in the development of the Boeing B-29 "Superfortress" bomber.

Photo Description
Drawing B-28 Dragon Drawing B-28 Dragon

Bibliography

  • "Encyclopedia of military engineering" /Aerospace Publising/
  • "American warplanes of World War II" /under cor. David Donald/

Авиация Второй мировой
Поиск на сайте       English
Самолёты North American AT 6 A-36 P 51A/B P 51D P 82 B 25A/B B 25C/D B 25G/H B 25J B 28 Фото и схемы Боевое применение P 51 B 25 В СССР B 25 AT-6C

B-28 Dragon

Высотный бомбардировщик

North American

B-28 Dragon

B-28 Dragon. Разработка высотного бомбардировщика началась в 1939 году на основе базовой конструкции B-25 Mitchell. Новый самолет, получивший обозначение NA-63 был оснащен двумя звездообразными двигателями Pratt & Whitney R-2800 мощностью 2000 л.с. с однокилевым вертикальным оперением, фюзеляжем круглого сечения и герметичной кабиной для пяти членов экипажа. Его бомбовый отсек вмещал 1814 кг бомб, надфюзеляжная, подфюзеляжная и хвостовая турели со спаренными пулеметами калибра 12,7 мм дистанционно управлялись из кабины, имелись также три аналогичных пулемета курсового огня.

15 ноября 1939 года USAAC заказали строительство первого из двух прототипов самолета получившего военное обозначение XB-28 и неофициальное прозвище Dragon. Этот самолет (серийный номер 40-3056) был облетан 24 апреля 1942 года. На испытаниях самолет показал высокие лётные характеристики: на высоте 7620 м достиг скорости 599 км/час и мог нести бомбовую нагрузки на расстояние в 3283 км.

Характеристики B-28
Экипаж 5
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 22,12
Длина самолета, м 17,20
Высота самолета, м 4,83
Силовая установка
2 × ПД Pratt & Whitney R-2800-27 Double Wasp, л.с. 2 × 2000
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета, кг 11600
Нормальная взлетная, кг 16875
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/час 599
Практический потолок, м 10500
Практическая дальность, км 3280
Вооружение
6 × 12,7мм пулеметов, бомбовая нагрузка, кг 1814

Второй прототип самолета NA-67 (XB-28A, серийный номер - 40-3058), был заказан 14 декабря 1940 года, при этом USAAC заказало переделать самолет в высотный разведчик. Для этих целей на нижней части фюзеляжа смонтировали четыре аэрофотоаппарата K-17. На самолет с той же силовой установкой установили новые пулеметные турели фирмы General Electric. Первый полет XB-28A состоялся 24 апреля 1943 года, однако уже 4 августа 1943 года самолет потерпел аварию и упал в океан.

Испытания XB-28 показали, что самолет превосходит по всем характеристикам серийные бомбардировщики B-25 Mitchell, однако к тому времени потребности в высотных бомбардировщиках были очень низкие - основные бомбовые удары наносились со средних и низких высот. К тому же концу войны основной упор ВВС США стали делать на тяжелые четырехдвигательные стратегические бомбардировщики, в связи с чем были отменены работы по созданию серийной версии самолета B-28 (North American NA-69). Результаты испытаний и наработок по герметичным кабинам были использованы в дальнейшем при разработке бомбардировщика Boeing B-29 "Superfortress".

Фото Описание
Схема B-28 Dragon Схема B-28 Dragon

Источники

  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны." /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
  • "American Aircraft of World War II" /Daves Warbirds/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-