Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

P-43 "Lancer"

Fighter

Republic

Republic P-43

Republic P-43 Lancer is a single-engine all-metal cantilever monoplane with retractable landing gear. It was designed by Alexander Mikhailovich Kartveli following the P-35 and XP-41. First flight, March 1940

Since the serial production of the new R-2800 Double Wasp engine, which was supposed to equip the developed R-47, had not yet been deployed, to load the conveyor of the Republic plant in Farmingdale USAAC at the end of 1940 ordered another batch of 54 P-43 Lancer instead of canceled order for 80 R-44.

Serial numbers of virtually identical YP-43 aircraft were from 41-6668 to 41-6721. The aircraft were powered by a Pratt & Whitney R-1830-47 14-cylinder air-cooled radial engine with a turbocharger, which developed a take-off power of 1200 hp. The first P-43 was delivered on May 16, 1941, the last aircraft was delivered to the army on August 28, 1941.

In 1942-1943, 108 vehicles were delivered to China. In total, about 250 fighters of various modifications were built.

Specification P-43
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 10.97
Wing area, m² 20.72
Length, m 8.69
Height, m 4.27
Powerplant
1 PE Pratt Whitney R-1830-47 1200 hp
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 2,565
Loaded weight 3,542
Gross weight 3,599
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 562
Maximum rate of climb, m/min 869
Service ceiling, m 11580
Armament
two 12.7 mm Colt-Browning machine guns with synchronizers and
two 7.62 mm Colt-Browning machine guns in the wing


Photo Description
Drawing P-43 Lancer

Drawing P-43 Lancer

P-43B "Lancer"

Reconnaissance Aircraft

Republic P-43B / D / E Lancer is a reconnaissance version of the P-43 single-seat fighter. Designed in KB "Republic Aviation Corporation" under the direction of A.M. Kartveli. The armament is the same as that of the P-43 / 43A - two 12.7 mm machine guns. The lead production copy of the P-43 was tested in May 1941. The aircraft was built at the Republican plant in Farmingdale. About 150 reconnaissance vehicles were produced. Photo reconnaissance aircraft based on the P-43 / P-43A have been in service in the United States since the summer of 1941, in Australia since August 1942. All modifications of the P-43 were discontinued in 1942.

Reconnaissance variants of the Lancer were used in combat operations in the Southwest Pacific by the American and Australian Air Forces in 1942-43. They were removed from service in the United States and Australia in 1943.

Modifications

  • R-43V photo reconnaissance aircraft with R-1830-35 engine based on R-43
  • The P-43C was similar to the P-43B, but differed in photographic equipment.
  • P-43D photo reconnaissance aircraft with R-1830-47 engine based on Р-43А.
  • R-43E photo reconnaissance aircraft with R-1830-47 engine based on R-43A-1.
P-43 in China

Bibliography

  • Encyclopedia of military engineering /Aerospace Publising/
  • American warplanes of World War II /under cor. David Donald/
  • Republic P-43 /Ivan Malishev/

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Republic P 43 P 47 Фото и схемы Боевое применение P 47 В СССР P 47

P-43 "Lancer"

Истребитель

Republic

Republic P-43

Republic P-43 Lancer - одномоторный цельнометаллический свободнонесущий моноплан с убирающимся шасси. Был спроектирован Александром Михайловичем Картвели вслед за Р-35 и ХР-41. Первый полет, март 1940 г.

Поскольку серийное производство нового двигателя R-2800 Double Wasp, которым предполагалось оснащать разрабатываемый Р-47, еще не было развернуто, для загрузки конвейера завода Republic в Фармингдейле USAAC в конце 1940 года заказали еще одну партию Р-43 Lancer из 54 вместо отмененного заказа на 80 Р-44.

Серийные номера фактически идентичных YP-43 самолетов были от 41-6668 до 41-6721. На самолетах устанавливался 14-цилиндровый звездообразный двигатель с воздушным охлаждением Pratt&Whitney R-1830-47 с турбокомпрессором, который развивал взлетную мощность 1200 л.с. Первый P-43 был поставлен 16 мая 1941 года, последний самолет поставили армии 28 августа 1941 года.

В 1942—1943 годах 108 машин были поставлены в Китай. Всего было построено около 250 истребителей различных модификаций.

Характеристики P-43
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 10,97
Площадь крыла, м² 20,72
Длина самолета, м 8,69
Высота самолета, м 4,27
Силовая установка
1 ПД Pratt Whitney R-1830-47 1200 л.с.
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 2565
Нормальная взлетная 3542
Максимальная взлетная 3599
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 562
Максимальная скороподъемность, м/мин 869
Практический потолок, м 11580
Вооружение
два 12,7 мм пулемета Colt-Browning с синхронизаторами и
два 7,62 мм пулемета Colt-Browning в крыле
Фото Описание
Схема P-43 Lancer

Схема P-43 Lancer

P-43B "Lancer"

Самолет-разведчик

Republic P-43B/D/E Lancer - разведывательный вариант одноместного истребителя Р-43. Спроектирован в КБ "Рипаблик авиэйшн корпорейшн" под руководством А.М. Картвели. Вооружение как у Р-43/43А - два 12,7-мм пулемета. Головной серийный экземпляр Р-43 испытывался в мае 1941 г. Самолет строился на заводе "Рипаблик" в Фармингдейле. Выпущено около 150 машин разведывательного варианта. Фоторазведчики на базе Р-43/Р-43А состояли на вооружении в США с лета 1941 г., в Австралии - с августа 1942 г. Все модификации Р-43 были сняты с производства в 1942 г.

Разведывательные варианты "Лэнсера" использовались в боевых действиях в юго-западной части Тихого океана американскими и австралийскими ВВС в 1942-43 гг. Они были сняты с вооружения в США и Австралии в 1943 г.

Модификации

  • Р-43В фоторазведчик с мотором R-1830-35 на базе Р-43
  • Р-43С аналогичный P-43B, отличался фотооборудованием.
  • P-43D фоторазведчик с мотором R-1830-47 на базе Р-43А.
  • Р-43Е фоторазведчик с мотором R-1830-47 на базе Р-43А-1.
P-43 in China

Источники

  • Самолеты Второй мировой войны. Ближние разведчики, корректировщики и штурмовики 1939-1945 /Владимир Котельников/
  • Republic P-43 /Иван Малышев/
  • CD энциклопедия. "Военная авиация" /Media 2000/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-