Aviation of Word War II

Home Russian

XP-80 Shooting Star

Multipurpose Fighter

Lockheed

XP-80 Shooting Star

As part of the Lend-Lease agreements, the British supplied blueprints for their turbojet engines for production in the United States under a General Electric license. The choice of the aircraft manufacturer was surprisingly simple - they chose the closest to General Electric - the Bell Aircraft Corporation, since both were located in New York. Already on October 19, 1942, the first American turbojet aircraft took off Bell XP-59A Eiracomet , equipped with a pair of General- Electrician 1-A. Although the XP-59A allowed the Americans to gain the necessary experience with turbojet aircraft, it was more an experimental machine than a real combat aircraft. The training battles of the serial P-59 with the piston fighters of the American Army Air Force P-38 and P-47 disappointed - the only thing the jet fighter had an advantage in was ... the bend radius. As a result, the US Army Aviation was forced to order the development of a new, more efficient jet fighter.

XP-80

For the first time, the XP-80 new fighter took off on January 8, 1944, during which the XP-80 showed high flight characteristics - the "barrel" was executed in a second! The test pilot reported: “It was a new feeling of flying!”. The flight speed reached 750 km/h. However, subsequent flights showed poor spin characteristics and a high stall speed of the aircraft - after the flaps were extended, the aircraft could fall to the right without warning. In addition, there were great loads on the control stick, the fuel system was working unsatisfactorily, and the engine was notable for its low reliability, and its power was clearly not enough.

After the modifications, the XP-80 was handed over to the 412th fighter group for military trials - on February 12, despite the engine limitation in terms of thrust of 75% of the power, the XP-80 became the first American aircraft to exceed the speed limit of 800 km/h. By March 29, the plane had already flown up to 20 hours. Shooting tests were carried out in April, joint tests with the army were completed on April 13, 1944.By this time, the new H-1 engine arrived at Lockheed and was ready for flights on May 26, but already on May 31, England received a notification about the limitation of the engine power - in during the tests, several engines exploded.

After the corkscrew tests, the XP-80 was included in the Tactical Command and transferred to Chanyute Field in Illinois, where it was used mainly as a demonstration model and conducted separate tests on it. November 8, 1946 XP-80 was transferred to the exhibition of the Smithsonian Institution.

Specification
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 11.29
Wing area, m² 22.33
Length, m 10.00
Height, m 3.12
Powerplant
1 × TJE Halford H.1B, thrust, kgf 1 × 1362
Weight, kg:
Empty 2,854
Loaded weight 3,720
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 810
Rate of climb, m/min 915
Service ceiling, m 12,500
Armament
5 (6) × 12.7 mm Browning M2 machine guns, cartridges, pcs. 6 × 200

F-80 Shooting Star

Fighter Bomber

F-80 Shooting Star

F-80 Shooting Star was the first mass production jet fighter to enter service with the USAAF. In 1947, after changing the designation system in the US Air Force, when the letter P from Pursuit - "hunter" was replaced by F from Fighter - "fighter" and "Shooting Star" received a new designation - F-80. He, like the British Gloster Meteor, had a traditional simple design at that time, which allowed him to become a real workhorse of the American tactical fighter-bomber aircraft and remain in this role for five years after the end of World War II.

The F-80A was followed by the F-80B and then the F-80C, and it was this variant that became the most common. The F-80C was widely used as a fighter-bomber during the Korean War. In the first four months alone, these aircraft made 15,000 sorties. Pilots considered this aircraft ideal for low-level attacks, but the F-80 was not able to compete on an equal footing with the North Korean piston Yaks due to its limited maneuverability.

On November 1, 1950, a meeting of the MiG-15 and F-80C units took place. At the same time, pilot Semyon Khominykh shot down one Shooting Star by an attack from the side of the sun (pilot Frank Van Sickle was killed). It was supposedly the first ever air battle between two jet aircraft. The MiG-15 with a swept wing was significantly superior to the F-80, therefore, starting in December 1950, they were replaced by the F-86A Saber. In addition, the all-weather Lockheed F-94 Starfire interceptors, created on the basis of the F-80A, were used in Korea.

According to official US data, during the entire operation of the F-80 in the USAF, 18 enemy aircraft (including 4 MiG-15s) were destroyed in air battles by fighters of this type. All victories were won in during the Korean War (1950-1953). At the same time, 371 F-80Cs and 28 RF-80 scouts were lost, not counting the training T-33s.

In total, 1,718 F-80s rolled off the assembly line, many of which, after completing active service, were converted into target aircraft.

Specification
Crew 1
Dimensions
Wing span, m 11.85
Wing area, m² 22.07
Length, m 10.52
Height, m 3.45
Powerplant
1 × ТРД General Electric J33-GE-11, тягой, кгс 1 × 1746
Weight, kg:
Empty 3,592
Loaded weight 5,307
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h /at altitude, m 818/9,144
Rate of climb m/s 23,3
Service ceiling, m 13715
Service range with PTB*, km 1255
Armament
6 × 12,7 мм Colt Browning M2/M3, cartridges, pcs.
Bomb, kg
6 × 300
2 × 454

* Note. PTB - outboard fuel tank.

Photo Description
Drawing F-80 C Drawing F-80 C

Bibliography

  • Lockheed P-80 'Shooting Star' / Aviation and Astronautics. Andrey Firsov. /
  • Encyclopedia of Military Equipment / Aerospace Publising /
  • CD encyclopedia. Military aviation / Media 2000 /
  • American military aircraft of the Second World War / ed. David Donald /

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Lockheed Martin B-10/B-12 Martin 167 Martin 187 AM-1 Mauler PBM Mariner JRM Mars Lockheed 14 Lockheed 18 C-69 Hudson Ventura Harpoon P-38 B-26 XP-80 Фото и схемы Боевое применение B-26

XP-80 "Shooting Star"

Многоцелевой истребитель

Lockheed

XP-80 Shooting Star

В рамках соглашений по ленд-лизу англичане поставили чертежи своих турбореактивных двигателей для производства в США по лицензии на Дженерал-электрик. Выбор авиастроительной фирмы оказался на удивление прост - выбрали самую близко расположенную к Дженерал-электрик - Белл эйркрафт корпорейшн, так как обе располагались в Нью-Йорке. Уже 19 октября 1942 г. в воздух поднялся первый американский турбореактивный самолет Белл ХР-59А "Эйракомет", оснащенный парой двигателей Дженерал-Электрик 1-А. Хотя ХР-59А и позволил американцам приобрести необходимый опыт работ по турбореактивным самолетам, это была скорее экспериментальная машина, нежели настоящий боевой самолет. Учебные бои серийных Р-59 с поршневыми истебителями американских армейских ВВС Р-38 и Р-47 разочаровали - единственное, в чем имел преимущество реактивный истребитель был ... радиус виража. В результате армейская авиация США была вынуждена заказать разработку нового, более эффективного реактивного истребителя.

XP-80

Впервые ХР-80 новый истребитель поднялся в воздух 8 января 1944 г., в течение которого ХР-80 показал высокие летные характеристики, - "бочка" выполнялась за секунду! Летчик-испытатель доложил: "Это было новое чувство полета!". Скорость полета доходила до 750 км/ч. Однако последующие полеты показали плохие штопорные характеристики и высокую скорость срыва самолета - после выпуска закрылков самолет мог без предупреждения свалиться вправо. Кроме того, были велики нагрузки на ручке управления, неудовлетворительно работала топливная система, а двигатель отличался низкой надежностью, да и его мощности явно не хватало.

После проведенных доработок ХР-80 был передан 412-й истребительной группе для войсковых испытаний - 12 февраля, несмотря на ограничение двигателя по тяге 75% мощности, ХР-80 стал первым американским самолетом, превысившим рубеж скорости 800 км/ч. К 29 марта самолет имел уже до 20 часов налета. В апреле провели стрелковые испытания, совместные испытания с армией были завершены 13 апреля 1944 г. К этому времени новый двигатель Н-1 прибыл на Локхид и был готов к полетам 26 мая, но уже 31 мая из Англии пришло уведомление об ограничении мощности двигателя - во время испытаний взорвалось несколько двигателей.

После испытаний на штопор ХР-80 включили в состав Тактического командования и перегнали на Чаньют-филд в Иллинойсе, где его использовали в основном в качестве демонстрационного образца и проводили на нем отдельные испытания. 8 ноября 1946 г. ХР-80 был передан в экспозицию Смитсонианского института.

Характеристики
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 11,29
Площадь крыла, м² 22,33
Длина самолета, м 10,00
Высота самолета, м 3,12
Силовая установка
1 × ТРД Halford H.1B, тягой, кгс 1 × 1362
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 2854
Нормальная взлетная 3720
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость, км/ч 810
Скороподъемность м/мин 915
Практический потолок, м 12500
Вооружение
5(6) × 12,7-мм пулеметов Browning M2, патронов, шт. 6 × 200

F-80 "Shooting Star"

Истребитель-бомбардировщик

F-80 Shooting Star

F-80 Shooting Star (Падающая звезда) стал первым массовым серийным реактивным истребителем, поступившим на вооружение в USAAF. В 1947 году после изменения системы обозначений в ВВС США, когда букву Р от Pursuit – «охотник» заменили на F от Fighter – «истребитель» и «Шутинг Стар» получил новое обозначение – F-80. Он, как и британский Gloster Meteor, имел традиционную на тот момент простую конструкцию, что позволило ему стать настоящей рабочей лошадкой американской тактической истребительно-бомбардировочной авиации и оставаться в этой роли в течение пяти лет после окончания Второй мировой войны.

За F-80A последовали F-80B и затем F-80C, и именно этот вариант стал самым распространённым. F-80C широко использовался как истребитель-бомбардировщик во время войны в Корее. Только за первые четыре месяца эти самолёты совершили 15 000 боевых вылетов. Пилоты считали этот самолёт идеальным для атак с бреющего полёта, но F-80 не был способен бороться на равных с северокорейскими поршневыми Яками в силу своей ограниченной манёвренности.

1 ноября 1950 года произошла встреча звеньев МиГ-15 и F-80C. При этом атакой со стороны солнца летчик Семён Хоминых сбил один Shooting Star (пилот Фрэнк Ван Сикл погиб). Это был предположительно первый в истории воздушный бой между двумя реактивными самолётами. МиГ-15 со стреловидным крылом значительно превосходил F-80, поэтому начиная с декабря 1950 года им на смену стали поступать F-86A «Сейбр». Кроме того в Корее использовались всепогодные перехватчики Lockheed F-94 Starfire, созданные на базе F-80A.

По официальным данным США, за всё время эксплуатации F-80 в USAF, истребителями этого типа было уничтожено в воздушных боях 18 самолётов противника (в том числе 4 МиГ-15). Все победы были одержаны в период Корейской войны (1950—1953 г.г.). При этом было потеряно 371 F-80C и 28 разведчиков RF-80, не считая учебных T-33.

Всего с конвейера сошло 1718 F-80, многие из которых после завершения активной службы были переделаны в самолёты-мишени.

Характеристики
Экипаж 1
Размеры
Размах крыла (без ПТБ на законцовках), м 11,85
Площадь крыла, м² 22,07
Длина самолета, м 10,52
Высота самолета, м 3,45
Силовая установка
1 × ТРД General Electric J33-GE-11, тягой, кгс 1 × 1746
Массы и нагрузки, кг:
Пустого самолета 3592
Нормальная взлетная 5307
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость на высоте 9144 м, км/ч 818
Скороподъемность м/сек 23,3
Практический потолок, м 13715
Практическая дальность с ПТБ*, км 1255
Вооружение
6 × 12,7 мм Colt Browning M2/M3, патронов, шт.
бомб, кг
6 × 300
2 × 454

* Примечание. ПТБ - подвесной топливный бак.

Фото Описание

Схема F-80 C

Источники

  • "Локхид Р-80 'Шутинг Стар'" /Авиация и космонавтика. Андрей Фирсов./
  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • CD энциклопедия. "Военная авиация" /Media 2000/
  • "Американские военные самолеты Второй мировой войны" /под ред. Дэвида Дональда/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-