Aviation of WWII
Home Custom Search
USA Northrop P 61 RF 61 Photo & Drawings

RF-61 (F-15) "Reporter"

Photo Reconnaissance Aircraft

Northrop

F-15A # 38335 Reporter

RF-61 (F-15) . In July 1944, the development of a long-range high-altitude high-speed reconnaissance aircraft for aerial photo reconnaissance began on the basis of the P-61. The Pratt & Whitney R-2800-65 Double Wasp air-cooled radial twin-row 18 cylinder air-cooled engines were replaced by the more powerful R-2800-C, which, together with a streamlined fuselage nacelle, gave a speed increase of 118 km / h. Up to 6 cameras of various types were installed in the nose cone of the aircraft.

XP-61E, F-15A

The photo reconnaissance aircraft, which received the designation F-15 under the new specification, had a cockpit for two crew members, located in tandem under a large common canopy. The rear workstation also had controls, however, the main job of the rear-seated operator was camera control and navigation. Since both crew members had both flight training and additional training in aerial reconnaissance, duties usually alternated during the flight.

A total of 36 aircraft were built - 9 were transferred to the US Air Force Logistics Command, the remaining 27 were sent by sea to the 8th photo reconnaissance squadron of 71 reconnaissance group (Fukuoka, Japan). Difficulties in maintenance and a lack of spare parts led to the fact that the F-15 rarely took to the skies.

Northrop P-61A-5 RF-61C
Crew 3 2
Dimensions
Wing span, m 20.13 20.12
Wing area, m² 61.77 61.53
Length, m 14.92 15.34
Height, m 4.32
Powerplant
2 × PE radial Pratt Whitney R-2800
-65
R-2800
-C
Power, hp 2 × 2250 2 × 2800
Weight, kg:
Empty weight 9518 9684
Gross weight 14710 16869
Performance
Maximum speed, km/h 590 708
Cruising speed, km/h 421 568
Service ceiling, m 10100 12486
Service range, km 6650 6437
Photo Description
Drawing F-15

Drawing F-15A

F-15

F-15 Test

Bibliography

  • American Warplanes of World War II /under cor. David Donald/
  • "RF-61 (F-15) Northrop" /Air War #56/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought People & Aircraft Photos & Drawings

©AirPages
2003-

Авиация Второй мировой
На главнуюПоиск на сайте
Самолёты Northrop P-61 RF-61 B-35 Фото и схемы Боевое применение P-61

RF-61 (F-15) "Reporter"

Фоторазведчик

Northrop

F-15A # 38335 Reporter

RF-61 (F-15). В июле 1944 года на базе P-61 была начата разработка дальнего высотного высокоскоростного разведывательного самолета для аэрофоторазведки. Радиальные двухрядные 18 цилиндровые двигатели воздушного охлаждения Pratt & Whitney R-2800-65 Double Wasp были заменены на более мощные R-2800-C, что вместе с более обтекаемой фюзеляжной гондолой дало увеличение скорости на 118 км/ч. В носовом обтекателе самолёта устанавливалось до 6 фотокамер различных типов.

XP-61E, F-15A

Получивший по новой спецификации обозначение F-15 фоторазведчик имел кабину на двух членов экипажа, располагавшихся тандемно под большим общим фонарём. Заднее рабочее место также имело органы управления, однако, основой задачей сидящего сзади оператора являлось управление камерами и навигация. Так как оба члена экипажа имели как лётную подготовку, так и дополнительное обучение ведению воздушной разведки, то обычно во время полёта обязанности чередовались.

Всего было построено 36 самолётов — 9 были переданы командованию материально-технического обеспечения ВВС США, остальные 27 отправлены морем в 8-ую фоторазведывательную эскадрилью 71 разведывательной группы (Фукуока, Япония). Сложности в обслуживании и недостаток запасных частей привело к тому, что F-15 редко поднимался в небо.

Northrop P-61A-5 RF-61C
Экипаж, м 3 2
Размеры
Размах крыла, м 20,13 20,12
Площадь крыла, м² 61,77 61,53
Длина самолета, м 14,92 15,34
Высота самолета, м 4,32
Силовая установка
2 × ПД радиальные Pratt Whitney R-2800
-65
R-2800
-C
мощность, л.с. 2 × 2250 2 × 2800
Массы и нагрузки, кг
Пустого 9518 9684
Максимальная взлетная 14710 16869
Летные данные
Максимальная скорость 590 708
Крейсерская скорость 421 568
Практический потолок, м 10100 12486
Практическая дальность, км 665 6437
Фото Описание
Схема F-15

Схема F-15A

F-15

F-15 Test

Источники

  • "Энциклопедия военной техники" /Aerospace Publising/
  • CD энциклопедия. "Военная авиация" /Media 2000/
  • "RF-61 (F-15) Northrop" /Война в воздухе № 56/
Bell Boeing Brewster Consolidated Curtiss Douglas General Motors Grumman Lockheed Martin North American Northrop Republic Vought Бои Люди Фото

©AirPages
2003-